Skip to main content

Digital Delano: Photos and Documents Finding Aid

Digital Delano

General Information

The Digital Delano archive consists of digital copies of Images and Documents. Large collections by individual donors are currently processed separately. The general collection includes donations of up to 20 donations per individual donor. An inventory of these donations is available as a finding aid. The larger collections will initially have separate finding aids. The inventories and finding aids will be combined once the large collections have been processed. The long term plan is to move the archive to the Bakersfield Archives server, where it will be a searchable database. We are preparing the records towards this plan. Please contact us at 661.720.2015 if you would like to use the archive at the Bakersfield College Delano Campus Library. 

General Collection

The general collection consists of 1-20 records per individual donor.

The inventory/finding aid for these records can be found in this document:

The Monte Marshall Papers

Monte Marshall is a life long resident of Delano. His family history in the area goes back to the 1890's. He has gathered a plethora of historical information and written several papers regarding people, places and events. He is the 4th generation of 7 generations in the City. The papers includes copies of correspondence between Harold Marshall and Ernest Tataki. Mr. Tataki is writing from the Poston Japanese Internment camp, inquiring about purchasing medicine for the camp, as well as the status of his pharmacy business that Mr. Marshall took responsibility for while he was gone. Monte Marshall has also submitted clippings and copies of articles of interest spanning from 1950-2000. These materials are available in the BC Delano library and will be processed for online access.

The Angel G. Diaz Collection

This collection chronicles the political life of Angel G. Diaz. It includes articles, certificates of acknowledgements and recognition, invitations, pictures of elected officials, correspondence with elected officials, and a collection of postcards received from Ted Kennedy from various trips around the world. 

The Luz Arbolante Papers

The Luz Arbolante collection includes notes, article submission, and clippings of published articles spanning several decades 1960-1990 of the Central Valley History. Luz was deeply rooted in her Catholicism and the Filipino community, which is reflected in her writing. The collection is in process of evaluation and digitization efforts are ongoing. 

The Jim Escalle Collection

The Jim Escalle collection consist of over 90 photos from the Escalle family history in the Earlimart and Delano area. Jim Escalle has also donated his book, Unforgotten Hero to the BC Delano library. This book tells the captivating life sotry of Secon Lieutenant Jimmy L. Escalle, a U.S. Air Force fighter pilot who became missing in action during the Korean war. The pictures in the archive includes additional materials regarding the family's life in and around the area, as well as additional pictures from Jimmy's life in the military.