What is a Reference Book?
Reference books are used primarily to verify facts and supply background information. Examples of reference books include: encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and almanacs. They are often produced by experts in a particular field are not intended to be read cover-to-cover. They usually have extensive indexes or an alphabetic or chronological arrangement that allows quick access to information.
Reference books can be found in the Reference Collection of the library, which has green labeled shelves. Reference books may not be taken out of the library, but there is no time limit for how long you can use them while you are in the library. See the three boxes below for encyclopedias that might have a biography on the person you are researching.
Online Encyclopedias
The library has access to many online encyclopedias. Online encyclopedia articles are a great way to find out more information about a topic you don't know much about--it's like using a scholarly version of Wikipedia! You can use the search bar to look for articles on the topic you are interested in. Many of the books listed in the reference section, are available online through Gale eBooks (Reference eBooks).
Click on the picture below to get started. You may be asked to enter your BC email address and password.
African American Biographies
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Call Number: E185 .E5453 2009ISBN: 9780195167795Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Notable Black American Men by Call Number: E185.86 .N68 1999ISBN: 0787607630Publication Date: 1998-10-12
Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007 by Call Number: E185.96 .B526 2008ISBN: 9780160801945Publication Date: 2008-10-03
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of Black Women in America by Call Number: E185.96 .F2 1996 (11 volumes)ISBN: 0816034249Publication Date: 1997-02-01
Biographical Dictionary of Black Americans by Call Number: E185.96 .K73 1992ISBN: 0816023247Publication Date: 1992-06-01
African American Leadership by Call Number: E185.615 .A59235 2015ISBN: 9780990730033Publication Date: 2015-06-15
In Praise of Black Women by Call Number: HQ1123 .S37913 2001 (3 volumes)ISBN: 0299172503Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era by Call Number: PS153.N5 B557 2014ISBN: 9780810885424Publication Date: 2014-10-16
American Biographies
Encyclopedia of American Biography by Call Number: CT213 .E53 1995ISBN: 0062700170Publication Date: 1996-10-03
Great Lives from History, American Series by Call Number: CT214 .G74 1987 (5 volumes)ISBN: 0893565296Publication Date: 1987-03-01
Facts about the Presidents by Call Number: E176.1 .K3 2009ISBN: 9780824210878Publication Date: 2009-03-01
The Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Athletes by Call Number: GV697 .A1 M355 2001ISBN: 081604242XPublication Date: 2001-07-01
Women in American History by Call Number: HQ1410 .W6468 2017 (4 volumes)ISBN: 9781610696029Publication Date: 2017-01-23
Great Lives from History: American Women by Call Number: HQ1412 .G74 2016ISBN: 9781619259447Publication Date: 2016-03-01
World Biographies
Encyclopedia of World Biography by Call Number: CT103 .E56 1998 (19 volumes)ISBN: 0787622214Publication Date: 1997-12-02
Great Lives from History: the 20th Century by Call Number: CT120 .G687 2008 (10 volumes)ISBN: 9781587653452Publication Date: 2008-09-16- A Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and mythology by Call Number: DE5 .S7 (3 volumes)
Women in World History by Call Number: HQ1115 .W6 1999 (17 volumes)ISBN: 078763736XPublication Date: 1999-10-08
Women in Ancient Greece and Rome by Call Number: HQ1134 .M25 1988ISBN: 0521318076Publication Date: 1988-09-29
Women of Consequence by Call Number: HQ1154 .G3813 2010ISBN: 9782080300911Publication Date: 2010-11-16
Historical Dictionary of Women in the Middle East and North Africa by Call Number: HQ1726.5 .T35 2013ISBN: 9780810868588Publication Date: 2012-12-19
