Skip to main content

ENGL B1A: Migrant Agricultural Labor: Finding Books

This guide provides resources relating to migrant agricultural labor for Professor Bond's ENGL B1A course.

Using the Library Catalog

You can access the BC Library Catalog by clicking on the first link below, and access the library's E-Book collection by clicking on the second link! 

To find books in print available at the Delano Campus Library, select Limit by -Delano or -Delano reference in the box at the upper right corner of your search results.

Search the library catalog for a specific topic by clicking on one of the following links.

General Books on Migrant Agricultural Laborers

The following books can be found in the library's General Collection, or the white-labeled book shelves. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. You can check out 20 general books at one time. Each book can be checked out for 3 weeks, with up to two renewals of 3 weeks each.

General Books on Farm Labor Activism

The following books can be found in the library's General Collection, or the white-labeled book shelves. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. You can check out 20 general books at one time. Each book can be checked out for 3 weeks, with up to two renewals of 3 weeks each.

Finding Books on the Library Shelf

Call Number= the address of the book on its spine

The signs on the end of the bookcases only refer to first two lines of a call #.

Pay attention to "collection" on the book entry in the catalog:  

REFERENCE= Green-labeled bookcases

GENERAL= White-labeled bookcases

Once in correct aisle, read call number, matching one line at a time, until find the right book.  Browse the shelves around it for possibly more books on your topic.

Reference Books

These books are reference books. A reference book is a book that is used primarily to supply background information on a particular topic. They are often produced by experts in a particular field and are not intended to be read from cover-to-cover: instead, you can find an entry in the reference book that mentions your topic and just read that entry. Most reference books will have an index in the back of the book that will allow you find out on which page your topic would be.

Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, and handbooks.

Reference books are found in the Reference Collection, or the green-labeled shelves in the library. You cannot check out reference books from the library, but you can look at them for as long as you are in the library, and you may take photo-copies of reference books.