Communication Journals at BC
The BC Library has online subscriptions for full-text access to 46 peer-reviewed Communication journals, listed in the link below. This means you can access them using the databases linked below each title.
You will find that most of these journal articles are found in Gale Academic OneFile. You can also search the Gale Academic OneFile database for articles. Many can also be found in EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete and other Gale and EBSCO databases.
The BC Library also subscribes to The Quarterly Journal of Speech, a print journal about speech and public speaking. We have issues from 1927-2016.
- You can find this journal in print for Volumes 13-49 (1927-1963) in the Periodicals collection of the library, on the blue-labeled shelves, shelved alphabetically by journal title.
- You can find this journal on microfilm in the file cabinets furthest away from the windows for Volumes 50-71 (1964-1985). We have two microfilm readers, and the reference librarians will be happy to teach you how to use them.
- You can find this journal on microfiche in the file cabinets closest to the windows for Volumes 72-102 (1986-2016). We have two microfiche readers, and the reference librarians will be happy to teach you how to use them.
The easiest way to find articles in our print collection (and microfilm/microfiche) is to use EBSCOhost's Academic Search Complete.
To find articles in this journal, search for Quarterly Journal of Speech, and then write down the year, volume, issue, and page numbers of the article you want to find. Go to the correct area based on the volume number of the article, as referenced in the bulleted statements above.
Recommended Databases
You can find links to individual databases on the Library homepage under the heading "Research", subheading "Search for Sources" and link "Find all of our databases with A-Z Databases". Select databases that are relevant to your research topic.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowYou can search more than one database at a time. Read the descriptions of each database and select those most relevant to your topic by checking off the box in front of the database title. Hit the yellow Continue button when you are ready to search just those selected databases.
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles from various disciplines
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowViewpoints, reference articles, and statistics covering today's hottest social issues
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reporting on the most important issues of the day
Using Library Databases
Databases are searchable collections of reliable, vetted resources, like magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and encyclopedias. We pay for access to these resources through subscriptions--like Netflix, but for articles!
- Vetted= already evaluated or fact-checked
Databases 101 Video Series
Searching Databases
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
Truncation
Combining Search Terms with Boolean Operators
