Using the Library Catalog
Books can be found in the library's General Collection, or the white-labeled book shelves. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. You can check out 20 general books at one time. Each book can be checked out for 3 weeks, with up to two renewals of 3 weeks each.
Some books are found in our eBook collection, so they are available online and not in print on our shelves. Clicking on the book title will take you to a page where you can click on the link under the "View Online" section, which takes you to another page where you need to click on the PDF in the left margin to read the full book.
Subject Headings
The library on-line catalog uses specific labels for subject headings/topics, and books are "tagged" in the computer by those terms according to their topics. The on-line library catalog is expecting you to use those specific search terms.
Helpful Search Terms for "Subject" Search in OneSearch
Gender Roles
Sex role [has subtopics]
Sex differences [has subtopics]
Sex differences in education
Sex differences in education--United States
Sex differences (Psychology) [has subtopics]
Gender identity [has subtopics]
Gender Roles in the Media
Sex differences in mass media
Lesbians in mass media
Mass media and sex
Violence in mass media
Rape in mass media
Rape in motion pictures
Sex role on television
Sex crimes in the press--United States
Culture of Violence Against Women
Sex discrimination against women
Women--violence against
Women--crimes against [has subtopics]
Rape Culture/Rape on College Campuses/Consequences of Rape on Women
Rape [has subtopics]
Sexual consent
Sex crimes [has subtopics]
Rape in universities and colleges--United States
Women college students--Crimes against--United States
Campus violence--United States
Rape victims [has subtopics]
Rape victims--Mental health
Rape victims--United States--Psychology
Immigrant Sexual Assault & Human Trafficking
Sex crimes [has subtopics]
Human trafficking [has subtopics]
Human smuggling [has subtopics]
Sexual Harassment & Assault in the Workplace
Sexual harassment [has subtopics]
Sexual harassment of women [has subtopics]
Sex role in the work environment [has subtopics]
Violence Faced by Trans-Women and Femmes (Feminine Lesbians)
Transgender people--Violence against--United States
Sexual minorities [has subtopics]
Sexual minorities--Violence against--United States
Lesbians [has subtopics]
Gays--Violence against
Homophobia [has subtopics]
Information Needed from OneSearch to Find Book on Shelf
Once you have search results, click on one of the books. A screen for that book will pop up
For each book you will see the citation information, description, collection, call number, and status.
Always check the status first to make sure it says "Available" before you get too excited about a book.
Then check which collection it can be found in. If it says "General Collection" it is in the white-labeled bookcases, and if it says "Reference Collection" it is in the green-labeled bookcases. If it says "Delano Library", it's at the Delano Campus.
Lastly, always write down the entire call number! See the box below about how to use that to find the book on the shelf.
Finding Books on the Library Shelf
Call Number= the address of the book on its spine
The signs on the end of the bookcases only refer to first two lines of a call #.
Pay attention to "collection" on the book entry in the catalog:
REFERENCE= Green-labeled bookcases
GENERAL= White-labeled bookcases
Once in correct aisle, read call number, matching one line at a time, until find the right book. Browse the shelves around it for possibly more books on your topic.
eBook Tutorial
Books and eBooks
Girl Archaeologist: Sisterhood in a Sexist Profession by Call Number: CC115.K44 A3 2022ISBN: 9781496229366Publication Date: 2022-03-01
Know My Name: A Memoir by Call Number: CT275 .M555 A3 2017ISBN: 9780735223707Publication Date: 2019-09-24
Sociology Reference Guide: Gender Roles & Equality by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781429834667Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Reproductive Justice: The Politics of Health Care for Native American Women by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0813564700Publication Date: 2014-12-09Also available in print!
She Said: Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement by Call Number: HD6060.3 .K37 2019ISBN: 9780525560340Publication Date: 2019-09-10
The Violence of Work by Call Number: HM1116 .V56 2021ISBN: 9781487504670Publication Date: 2021Chapter 8: Gender Violence in the Hospitality Industry
Gender Roles by Call Number: HOT TOPICS TABLE HQ1075 .G4663 2014ISBN: 9780737769579Publication Date: 2014-05-20
A Guide to Gender (2nd Edition): The Social Justice Advocate's Handbook by Call Number: HQ21 .K425 2017ISBN: 9780989760249Publication Date: 2017-03-15
Nonbinary Gender Identities: History, Culture, Resources by Call Number: HQ73 .M36 2018ISBN: 9781442275515Publication Date: 2017-12-08
LGBTQ Stats: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer People by the Numbers by Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 D47 2017ISBN: 9781620972441Publication Date: 2017-01-24Also available as an eBook!
Getting Screwed: Sex Workers and the Law by Call Number: HQ118 .B37 2015ISBN: 9781611686340Publication Date: 2015-10-06focuses on prostitution
Slavery, Inc.: The Untold Story of International Sex Trafficking by Call Number: HQ281 .C3313 2014ISBN: 9781619022966Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Sex Trafficking and Human Rights: The Status of Women and State Responses by Call Number: HQ281 .S685 2022ISBN: 9781647122614Publication Date: 2022-09-01
Sex Trafficking and Commercial Sexual Exploitation by Call Number: HQ314 .G47 2018ISBN: 9780826149749Publication Date: 2017-08-28
Policing the Womb: Invisible Women and the Criminalization of Motherhood by Call Number: HQ766.5.U5 G65 2020ISBN: 9781107030176Publication Date: 2020-03-12
Medical Sexism: Contraception Access, Reproductive Medicine, and Health Care by Call Number: HQ766.15 .D45 2019ISBN: 9781498558211Publication Date: 2019-10-17
The Turnaway Study: Ten Years, a Thousand Women, and the Consequences of Having--or Being Denied--an Abortion by Call Number: HQ767.5.U5 F67 2020ISBN: 9781982141561Publication Date: 2020-06-02
Why Gender Matters: What Parents and Teachers Need to Know About the Emerging Science of Sex Differences by Call Number: HQ1075 .S28 2005ISBN: 038551073XPublication Date: 2005-02-15
The Psychology of Sex, Gender and Jobs: Issues and Solutions by Call Number: HQ1075.5 .U6 P79 2002ISBN: 0275965074Publication Date: 2001-10-30
Hate Speech Against Women Online by Call Number: HQ1155 .R53 2021ISBN: 9781538147795Publication Date: 2021-10-01
Men Explain Things to Me by Call Number: HQ1155 .S665 2014ISBN: 9781608464661Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Other Girls to Burn by Call Number: HQ1233 .C746 2021ISBN: 9780820360430Publication Date: 2021-09-30
Misogyny Across Global Media by Call Number: HQ1233 .M547 2021ISBN: 9781793606211Publication Date: 2021-03-01
The #MeToo Effect: What Happens When We Believe Women by Call Number: HQ1237 .G55 2023ISBN: 9780231194204Publication Date: 2023-04-25
Believing: Our Thirty-Year Journey to End Gender Violence by Call Number: HQ1237.5.U6 H55 2021ISBN: 9780593298299Publication Date: 2021-09-28
Regulating the Lives of Women: Social Welfare Policy from Colonial Times to the Present by Call Number: HV699.A424 2018ISBN: 9780415785501Publication Date: 2017-08-21
Gender, Crime, and Justice: Exploring the Dynamics by Call Number: HV6046 .W55 2017ISBN: 9781626376601Publication Date: 2017-07-25
Rape on Prime Time: Television, Masculinity, and Sexual Violence by Call Number: HV6250.4 .W65 C85 2000ISBN: 0812235223Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Violence Against Girls and Women: International Perspectives, 2 vols. by Call Number: HV6250.4.G57 V558 2013ISBN: 9781440803352Publication Date: 2013-08-27
Violence Against Queer People: Race, Class, Gender, and the Persistence of Anti-LGBT Discrimination by Call Number: HV6250.4.H66 M49 2015ISBN: 9780813573168Publication Date: 2015-10-11
Gender Violence, 2nd Edition by Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 G48 2007ISBN: 9780814762097Publication Date: 2007-08-01
The Seductions of Quantification: Measuring Human Rights, Gender Violence, and Sex Trafficking by Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 M4777 2016ISBN: 9780226261140Publication Date: 2016-06-10
Sourcebook on Violence Against Women by Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 S68 2011ISBN: 9781412971669Publication Date: 2010-08-02
Violence Against Women: What Everyone Needs to Know by Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 T784 2021ISBN: 9780199378944Publication Date: 2020-11-24
Asking for It: The Alarming Rise of Rape Culture--and What We Can Do About It by Call Number: HV6556 .H37 2015ISBN: 9780738217024Publication Date: 2015-08-25
Me, Not You: The Trouble With Mainstream Feminism by Call Number: HV6556 .P45 2020ISBN: 1526147181Publication Date: 2020-04-06Also available as an eBook!
Sex Crimes: Transnational Problems and Global Perspectives by Call Number: HV6556 .S423 2015ISBN: 9780231169486Publication Date: 2015-06-16Also available as an eBook!
What We Talk about When We Talk about Rape by Call Number: HV6558.A295 2018ISBN: 9781620974735Publication Date: 2018-11-27
Books and eBooks, Continued
Homophobia: The State of Sexual Bigotry Today by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780313359262Publication Date: 2009
Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Psychological Issues by Call Number: Hot Topics Table BF149 .T34 2018ISBN: 9781259910746Publication Date: 2017-10-04Hot Topics Table can be found in the half-bookcases at the front of the library.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Social Issues by Call Number: Hot Topics Table HN18 .T35 2019ISBN: 1260180298Publication Date: 2018-03-07Hot Topics Table can be found in the half-bookcases at the front of the library.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Human Sexuality by Call Number: Hot Topics Table HQ18 .U5 T33 2017ISBN: 9781259410469Publication Date: 2017Hot Topics Table can be found in the half-bookcases at the front of the library.
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Gender by Call Number: Hot Topics Table HQ1075 .T39 2018ISBN: 9781259853517Publication Date: 2017-03-22Hot Topics Table can be found in the half-bookcases at the front of the library.
Violence Against Women by Call Number: Hot Topics Table HV6250.4.W65 V52153 2016ISBN: 9780737774276Publication Date: 2015-12-16Also available as an eBook!
Teaching Fear: How We Learn to Fear Crime and Why It Matters by Call Number: HV6250.3.U5 R33 2023ISBN: 9781439921029Publication Date: 2023-01-06
Gender Violence: Resistance, Resilience, and Autonomy by Call Number: HV6250.4.W65 B869 2022ISBN: 9781498578851Publication Date: 2022-03-08
When Women Sexually Abuse Men: The Hidden Side of Rape, Stalking, Harassment, and Sexual Assault by Call Number: HV6561 .C663 2013ISBN: 9780313397295Publication Date: 2013-06-25
I Never Called It Rape - Updated Edition by Call Number: HV6561 .W38 2019ISBN: 9780062844309Publication Date: 2019-02-26
Preventing Child Trafficking: A Public Health Approach by Call Number: HV6570 .T63 2019ISBN: 9781421433011Publication Date: 2019-12-17Also available as an eBook!
The Girls: An All-American Town, a Predatory Doctor, and the Untold Story of the Gymnasts Who Brought Him Down by Call Number: HV6570.2 .P47 2019ISBN: 9781580058803Publication Date: 2019-08-06
Sex Offenders, Stigma, and Social Control by Call Number: HV6592 .R53 2016ISBN: 9780813578293Publication Date: 2016-07-12
Stalkers and their Victims, 2nd ed. by Call Number: HV6594 .M85 2009ISBN: 9786611944995Publication Date: 2009Also available as an eBook!
The Voices Of #MeToo: From Grassroots Activism to a Viral Roar by Call Number: HV6625 .G54 2019ISBN: 9781538128008Publication Date: 2019-07-23
Surviving Domestic Abuse: Formal and Informal Supports and Services by Call Number: HV6626 .F565 2021ISBN: 9780367859589Publication Date: 2020-07-13
Gendered Domestic Violence and Abuse in Popular Culture by Call Number: HV6626 .G46 2021ISBN: 9781838677824Publication Date: 2020-11-30
Abused Men: The Hidden Side of Domestic Violence by Call Number: HV6626.2 .C65 2009ISBN: 9780313356186Publication Date: 2009-02-24
Abusive Endings: Separation and Divorce Violence Against Women by Call Number: HV6626.2 .D44 2017ISBN: 9780520285743Publication Date: 2017-05-16
Decriminalizing Domestic Violence: A Balanced Policy Approach to Intimate Partner Violence by Call Number: HV6626.2 .G667 2018ISBN: 9780520295575Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Abetting Batterers: What Police, Prosecutors, and Courts Aren't Doing to Protect America's Women by Call Number: HV6626.2 .K5947 2020ISBN: 9781538137413Publication Date: 2020-02-11
Family Violence and Men of Color by Call Number: HV6626.52 .F35 2008ISBN: 9780826111784Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Hate Crimes: Typology, Motivations, and Victims by Call Number: HV6773.5 .H39 2018ISBN: 9781611639247Publication Date: 2018-07-03Chapter 7: Hate and Gender
Hate Crimes: Causes, Controls, and Controversies by Call Number: HV6773.52 .G47 2018ISBN: 9781506345444Publication Date: 2017-04-27
Credible: Why We Doubt Accusers and Protect Abusers by Call Number: HV8079.S48 T875 2021ISBN: 9780063002746Publication Date: 2021-10-05
Invisible No More: Police Violence Against Black Women and Women of Color by Call Number: HV8141 .R57 2017ISBN: 9780807088982Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Sex Scandals, Gender, and Power in Contemporary American Politics by Call Number: JK2249 .M355 2017ISBN: 9781440843273Publication Date: 2017-04-17
Queer and Trans Migrations: Dynamics of Illegalization, Detention, and Deportation by Call Number: JV6346.5 .Q44 2020ISBN: 9780252043314Publication Date: 2020-10-26Also available as an eBook!
Women, Intimate Partner Violence, and the Law by Call Number: K5191.W65 D68 2021ISBN: 9780190071783Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Human Trafficking Around the World: Hidden in Plain Sight by Call Number: K5297 .H47 2013ISBN: 9780231161459Publication Date: 2013-06-04Also available as an eBook!
Wrongful Conviction in Sexual Assault: Stranger Rape, Acquaintance Rape, and Intra-Familial Child Sexual Assaults by Call Number: KF9329 .J64 2021ISBN: 9780190653057Publication Date: 2020-10-19
The Beginning and End of Rape: Confronting Sexual Violence in Native America by Call Number: KIE3560 .D44 2015ISBN: 9780816696314Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Campus Sexual Assault: College Women Respond by Call Number: LB2345.3.R37 G47 2016ISBN: 9781421419053Publication Date: 2016-02-09
Blurred Lines: Rethinking Sex, Power, and Consent on Campus by Call Number: LB2345.3.R37 G75 2017ISBN: 9780544702554Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Unwanted Advances: Sexual Paranoia Comes to Campus by Call Number: LB2345.3.R37 K57 2017ISBN: 9780062657862Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Debating Single-Sex Education: Separate & Equal? by Call Number: LB3067.4 .D43 2013ISBN: 9781610488693Publication Date: 2013-07-11
Sexual Harassment in Education and Work Settings: Current Research and Best Practices for Prevention by Call Number: LC212.82 .S4985 2015ISBN: 9781440832932Publication Date: 2015-08-26
Watching Rape: Film and Television in Post-feminist Culture by Call Number: PN1995.9 .R27 P76 2001ISBN: 0814766897Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Sisters in the Life: A History of Out African American Lesbian Media-Making by Call Number: PN1995.9.L48 S57 2018ISBN: 9780822370710Publication Date: 2018-03-27
Pink Brain, Blue Brain: How Small Differences Grow into Troublesome Gaps--and What We Can Do About It by Call Number: QP81.5 .E45 2009ISBN: 9780618393114Publication Date: 2009-09-14
Women Who Were Sexually Abused as Children by Call Number: RC569.5.A28 G55 2018ISBN: 9781538101773Publication Date: 2018-08-24
Reproductive Justice: The Politics of Health Care for Native American Women by Call Number: RG 121 .G87 2015ISBN: 9780813564692Publication Date: 2014-12-09Also available as an eBook!
