Using the Library Catalog
Books
The following books can be found in the library's General Collection, or the white-labeled book shelves. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. You can check out 20 general books at one time. Each book can be checked out for 3 weeks, with up to two renewals of 3 weeks each.
Subject Headings
The online library catalog (OneSearch) uses specific labels for subject headings/topics, and books are "tagged" in the computer by those terms according to their topics. The online library catalog is expecting you to use those specific search terms when you do a "Subject" search.
If you need help figuring out the right words to use, ask a Reference Librarian!
Helpful Search Terms for "Subject" Search in OneSearch
General Info
Human-animal relationships
Animal welfare
Animal welfare—Moral & ethical aspects
Animals—Treatment—Moral & ethical aspects
Zoology, Economic (use for Animals, Useful & Harmful)
Animal behavior
Animal health
Animal intelligence
Animal memory—Popular works
Cognition in animals
Consciousness in animals
Animal psychology
Psychology, Comparative
Topic #1: Used for Food
Factory farms
Natural foods industry—United States
Livestock
Animal industry—Moral & ethical aspects
Animal health
Topic #2: Used for Entertainment
Zoo animals
Circus—Social aspects—United States
Sea World
Bullfights
Hunting
Dogs in motion pictures
Topic #3: Used for Clothing
Clothing trade—Moral & ethical aspects
Textile industry
Topic #4: Used for Science
Laboratory animals
Animal experimentation
Animal experimentation—Moral & ethical aspects
Animal shelters (book result focuses more on using these animals for science)
Topic #5: Humans Intervene to Preserve
Animal rescue
Wildlife conservation
Livestock (includes animal husbandry)
Topic #6: Kill and No-kill Shelters
Animal shelters
Topic #7: Used as Service Animals
Police dogs--United States
Animal welfare--Law and legislation--United States
Animals—Therapeutic use
Guide dogs
Information Needed from OneSearch to Find Book on Shelf
Once you have search results, click on one of the books. A screen for that book will pop up
For each book you will see the citation information, description, collection, call number, and status.
Always check the status first to make sure it says "Available" before you get too excited about a book.
Then check which collection it can be found in. If it says "General Collection" it is in the white-labeled bookcases, and if it says "Reference Collection" it is in the green-labeled bookcases. If it says "Delano Library", it's at the Delano Campus.
Lastly, always write down the entire call number! See the box below about how to use that to find the book on the shelf.
Finding Books on the Library Shelf
Call Number= the address of the book on its spine
The signs on the end of the bookcases only refer to first two lines of a call #.
Pay attention to "collection" on the book entry in the catalog:
REFERENCE= Green-labeled bookcases
GENERAL= White-labeled bookcases
Once in correct aisle, read call number, matching one line at a time, until find the right book. Browse the shelves around it for possibly more books on your topic.
Helpful Books for This Project
Animal Presences by Call Number: BF175.5.A72 H53 2008ISBN: 9780882145884Publication Date: 2008-08-15
The Emotional Foundations of Human Personality by Call Number: BF698 .D374 2018ISBN: 9780393710571Publication Date: 2018-03-27Chapters 7-10 are about animal personalities (apes, canines, rats)
A Decent Life: Morality for the Rest of Us by Call Number: BJ1012 .M385 2019ISBN: 9780226609744Publication Date: 2019-03-22Chapter 4: Widening the Circle: Nonhuman Animals
When Bulls Cry: The Case Against Bullfighting by Call Number: GV1108.7 .O46 2006ISBN: 9781425927721Publication Date: 2006-04-01
The Chain: Farm, Factory, and the Fate of Our Food by Call Number: HD9415 .G46 2014ISBN: 9780062288752Publication Date: 2014-10-14
Slaughterhouse Blues: The Meat and Poultry Industry in North America by Call Number: HD9415 .S78 2013ISBN: 9781111828783Publication Date: 2012-01-30Service and Therapy Dogs in American Society by
Call Number: HV1569.6 .E57 2010ISBN: 9780398079314Publication Date: 2010-06-01Also available as an eBook!
Animals and Public Health: Why Treating Animals Better is Critical to Human Welfare by Call Number: HV4708 .A32 2012ISBN: 9780230249738Publication Date: 2012-02-14
The Gospel of Kindness: Animal Welfare & the Making of Modern America by Call Number: HV4764 .D38 2016ISBN: 9780199733156Publication Date: 2016-04-29(Includes bullfighting on pg. 179)
Advocates for Animals: An Inside Look at Some of the Extraordinary Efforts to End Animal Suffering by Call Number: HV4764 .G52 2017ISBN: 9781442253193Publication Date: 2017-09-15
How Shelter Pets Are Brokered for Experimentation: Understanding Pound Seizure by Call Number: HV4765.M53 P45 2010ISBN: 9781442202115Publication Date: 2010-09-16Also available as an eBook!
Animal Experimentation: A Guide to the Issues by Call Number: HV4915 .M65 2009ISBN: 9780521878791Publication Date: 2009-01-22Also available as an eBook!
Animals and Criminal Justice by Call Number: KF390.5.A5 C876 2015ISBN: 9781412855969Publication Date: 2015-08-25
How Animals Help Students Learn by Call Number: LB1044.9.A65 H69 2017ISBN: 9781138648647Publication Date: 2017-03-29
Cinematic Canines: Dogs and Their Work in the Fiction Film by Call Number: PN1995.9.A5 C555 2014ISBN: 9780813563565Publication Date: 2014-03-27The Dangerous Summer by
Call Number: PS3515.E37 Z464 1985ISBN: 0684183552Publication Date: 1985-06-01(about bullfighting)
The Animal Game: Searching for Wilderness at the American Zoo by Call Number: QL76.5.U6 B46 2016ISBN: 9780674737341Publication Date: 2016-11-07
Cumulative Effects in Wildlife Management by Call Number: QL82 .C86 2011ISBN: 9781439809167Publication Date: 2011-03-09
The Future Role of Dwarf Honey Bee in Natural and Agricultural Systems by Call Number: QL568.A6 F888 2020ISBN: 9781138335820Publication Date: 2020-06-02
Death at SeaWorld: Shamu and the Dark Side of Killer Whales in Captivity by Call Number: QL737.C432 K577 2012ISBN: 9781250002020Publication Date: 2012-07-17
Minding Animals: Awareness, Emotions, and Heart by Call Number: QL751 .B366 2002ISBN: 0195150775Publication Date: 2002-05-02
The Creative Lives of Animals by Call Number: QL751.5 .G49 2022ISBN: 9781479815449Publication Date: 2022-11-22
Animal Minds: Beyond Cognition to Consciousness by Call Number: QL785 .G715 2001ISBN: 0226308650Publication Date: 2001-05-01
Wild Minds: What Animals Really Think by Call Number: QL785 .H359 2000ISBN: 0805056696Publication Date: 2000-03-09
The Moral Lives of Animals by Call Number: QL785 .P375 2011ISBN: 9781596914247Publication Date: 2011-03-20
Beyond Words: What Animals Think & Feel by Call Number: QL785 .S14 2015ISBN: 9780805098884Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? by Call Number: QL785 .W127 2016ISBN: 9780393246186Publication Date: 2016-04-25
Animals Make Us Human by Call Number: QL785.27 .G73 2009ISBN: 9780151014897Publication Date: 2009-01-06
Helpful Books for This Project, Continued
The CAFO Reader: The Tragedy of Industrial Animal Factories by Call Number: SF140.L58 C33 2010ISBN: 9780970950055Publication Date: 2010-06-01Understanding Dogs: Living & Working with Canine Companions by
Call Number: SF426 .S25 1999ISBN: 1566396891Publication Date: 1999-05-03Chapter 6 helpful
Rin Tin Tin: The Life and the Legend by Call Number: SF429.G37 O75 2012ISBN: 9781439190142Publication Date: 2012-10-09
Heartsblood: Hunting, Spirituality, & Wilderness in America by Call Number: SK14.3 .P48 2000ISBN: 1559637617Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Essential Readings in Wildlife Management and Conservation by Call Number: SK355 .E78 2013ISBN: 9781421408187Publication Date: 2013-02-07
Animals As Food: (Re)connecting Production, Processing, Consumption, and Impacts by Call Number: TS1960 .F57 2015ISBN: 9781611861747Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Every Twelve Seconds: Industrialized Slaughter and the Politics of Sight by Call Number: TS1963 .P33 2011ISBN: 9780300152678Publication Date: 2011-11-18Also available as an eBook!
Fashion Textiles Now by Call Number: TT507.P75 2013ISBN: 9781908126351Publication Date: 2015-02-05Chapter 1 is on animal fibers.
Cry Havoc: The History of War Dogs by Call Number: UH100 .A44 2011ISBN: 9781742570969Publication Date: 2012-03-01
eBooks
These books are found in our eBook collection, so they are available online and not in print on our shelves. Clicking on the book title will take you to a page where you can click on the link under the "View Online" section, which takes you to another page where you need to click on the PDF in the left margin to read the full book.
Animals and Modern Cultures: A Sociology of Human-Animal Relations in Modernity by ISBN: 9780761956228Publication Date: 1999-09-20This book focuses on social change and animals, it is concerned with how humans relate to animals and how this has changed and why. Moreover, it highlights, through chapters on companion animals, hunting and fishing, animal leisures such as birdwatching and wildlife parks, and the meat and livestock industries, how attitudes and practices towards animals vary widely according to social class, ethnicity, gender, region and nation.
Animals and Society: An Introduction to Human-Animal Studies by ISBN: 9780231152945Publication Date: 2012-08-21This is a textbook, but it covers many of the topics for this project.
Animal Subjects: An Ethical Reader in a Posthuman World by ISBN: 9780889205123Publication Date: 2008-05-20The contributors to Animal Subjects are scholars and writers from diverse perspectives whose work calls into question the boundaries that divide the animal kingdom from humanity, focusing on the medical, biological, cultural, philosophical, and ethical concerns between non-human animals and ourselves.
Handbook of Natural Fibres: Types, Properties and Factors Affecting Breeding and Cultivation by ISBN: 9781845696979Publication Date: 2012-10-19(especially chapters 7, 8, and 9)- How Shelter Pets Are Brokered for Experimentation by ISBN: 9781442202115Publication Date: 2010-09-16Available in print, as well.
Occupational Health and Safety in the Care and Use of Nonhuman PrimatesISBN: 1280179813Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Occupational Health and Safety in the Care and Use of Research Animals by ISBN: 9780309052993Publication Date: 1997-07-09
Placing Animals: An Introduction to the Geography of Human-Animal Relations by ISBN: 9781442211841Publication Date: 2012-08-09As Julie Urbanik vividly illustrates, non-human animals are central to our daily human lives. We eat them, wear them, live with them, work them, experiment on them, try to save them, spoil them, abuse them, fight them, hunt them, buy and sell them, love them, and hate them.
Strangers to Nature: Animal Lives and Human Ethics by ISBN: 9780739145470Publication Date: 2012-03-22
