Gale eBooks
The library has access to many online encyclopedias through a database called Gale eBooks (Reference eBooks). Online encyclopedia articles are a great way to find out more information about a topic you don't know much about--it's like using a scholarly version of Wikipedia! You can use the search bar to look for articles on the archetypes you are interested in.
Click on the button below to explore the collection!
- Heroes & HeroinesThis link takes you to the table of contents for an encyclopedia about heroes, heroines, and the storytelling archetypes surrounding them. Look through the table of contents to find an article you are interested in.
- Psychologists and Their Theories For StudentsThis link takes you to the index for this encyclopedia. The index tells you which topics the encyclopedia covers. You can search for a particular archetype or psychologist (Jung, Freud, etc.).
Need help? Watch the video below for some tips on using Gale eBooks.
Print Encylopedias
These books are reference books. A reference book is a book that is used primarily to supply background information on a particular topic. They are often produced by experts in a particular field and are not intended to be read from cover-to-cover: instead, you can find an entry in the reference book that mentions your topic and just read that entry. Most reference books will have an index in the back of the book that will allow you find out on which page your topic would be.
Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, and handbooks.
Reference books are found in the Reference Collection, or the green-labeled shelves in the library. You cannot check out reference books from the library, but you can look at them for as long as you are in the library, and you may take photo-copies of reference books.
Ariadne's Clue by Call Number: BF 458 .S74 1999ISBN: 0691004595Publication Date: 1999-02-28See the entry on "Archetypes."
There is also a copy of this book in the General Collection, meaning you can check it out if you look for it in the white-labeled section.- Encyclopedia of Religion and Ethics byCall Number: BS 440 .H37 1926Publication Date: 1926The entry on "Heroes and Hero Worship" is particularly helpful.
Folk Heroes and Heroines Around the World by Call Number: GR 35 .F62 2016ISBN: 9781440838606Publication Date: 2016
Folklore : an encyclopedia of beliefs, customs, tales, music, and art by Call Number: GR 35 .F63 1997 v.1ISBN: 087436986XPublication Date: 1997-12-01See the entries for “Archetype,” “Culture
Hero,” “Hero/Heroine,” and “Folk.”
See an online version of the encyclopedia at the link.
Encyclopedia of Folk Heroes by Call Number: GR 35 .S4 2001ISBN: 1576072169Publication Date: 2001-12-11
Storytelling Encyclopedia by Call Number: GR 72 .S76 1997ISBN: 1573560251Publication Date: 1997-09-23See entries for "Hero" and "Heroine".
Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature by Call Number: GR 72.56 .A73 2005ISBN: 0765612607Publication Date: 2004-12-31We have both a print and an online version of this encyclopedia. See the online version in the link.
Folk and Fairy Tales by Call Number: GR 550 .A77 2004ISBN: 0313328102Publication Date: 2004-05-30See "archetype" and "heroes and heroines" in index.
Men and Masculinities by Call Number: HQ1090.3 .M436 2004 v.1 & v.2ISBN: 1576077748Publication Date: 2003-12-11See "Hero"
Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature by Call Number: PN 41 .E48 1998ISBN: 1576070034Publication Date: 1998-09-02See "Archetype" and "Heroic Pattern."
Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs by Call Number: PN 43 .D48 1988 v.1 & v.2ISBN: 0313263965Publication Date: 1988-11-21See “Anti-Hero,” “Birth of a Hero,” “Christian Hero,” “Comic Hero,” “Great Father,” “Search for Father,” “Social Status of Hero,” and “Tragicomic Hero.”
The Toni Morrison Encyclopedia by Call Number: PS 3563 .O8749 Z913 2004ISBN: 0313316996Publication Date: 2003-01-30See Index for archetype examples.
An online version of this encyclopedia is also available at the link.
