Using Library Databases
Databases are searchable collections of reliable, vetted resources, like magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and encyclopedias. We pay for access to these resources through subscriptions--like Netflix, but for articles!
- Vetted= already evaluated or fact-checked
The databases listed below are the best databases for your class.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEspecially helpful for this project:
Academic Search Complete
MasterFILE Complete
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Military & Government Collection
GreenFILE
Applied Science & Technology - Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles from various disciplines
- Agriculture: OneFile This link opens in a new windowPeriodical content covering agriculture and related fields
- Gardening and Horticulture: OneFile This link opens in a new windowMillions of articles on the practical and scientific aspects of horticulture studies
- Culinary Arts: OneFile This link opens in a new windowMajor cooking and nutrition magazines and key reference titles
- Environmental Studies In Context This link opens in a new windowUnderstand environmental issues that affect people globally through topic overviews, journals, news, and multimedia content.
- Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new windowFull range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowViewpoints, reference articles, and statistics covering today's hottest social issues
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reporting on the most important issues of the day
Searching Databases
Truncation
Combining Search Terms with Boolean Operators
