Skip to main content

Monsters: Finding Reference Books

How to find resources at the BC Library on monsters.

Background Information

Background information is very useful when narrowing down your topic, or when first learning about your topic. Background research (or pre-search!) is the first step in the research process. Getting background information on your topic allows you to learn enough about your topic to decide which specific aspect of that topic you wish to focus on, and gives you enough information about your topic for you to be able to talk about your topic for about a minute without repeating yourself.

The best way to complete background research is to use a reference book!

What's a Reference Book?

Reference books are used primarily to verify facts and supply background information. Examples of reference books include: encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and almanacs. They are often produced by experts in a particular field are not intended to be read cover-to-cover. They usually have extensive indexes or an alphabetic or chronological arrangement that allows quick access to information.

See a list of print encyclopedias that will be useful for researching monsters in the box to the right.

If you'd rather use an online version of an encyclopedia, use our database of online encyclopedias, Gale Virtual Reference Library! Get started by clicking on the image below and searching for the monster you're interested in.

Gale Virtual Reference Library link

For more specific searches, see the links below.

Print Encyclopedia Articles

These encyclopedias are available in print in the library. Click on the link to see if they are also available online. Find the print books in the Reference Collection, or the green-labeled shelves in the library. You cannot check out reference books from the library, but you can look at them for as long as you are in the library, and you may take photo-copies of reference books.