What's a Reference Book?
The books on this page are reference books. A reference book is a book that is used primarily to supply background information on a particular topic. They are often produced by experts in a particular field and are not intended to be read from cover-to-cover: instead, you can find an entry in the reference book that mentions your topic and just read that entry. Most reference books will have an index in the back of the book that will allow you find out on which page your topic would be.
Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, and handbooks.
Reference books are found in the Reference Collection, or the green-labeled shelves in the library. You cannot check out reference books from the library, but you can look at them for as long as you are in the library, and you may take photo-copies of reference books.
Reference Books
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness by Call Number: REF HV2365 .G35 1987 v.1-3ISBN: 0070792291Publication Date: 1987-01-01
The SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia by Call Number: REF HV2365 .S24 2016 v.1-3ISBN: 9781452259567Publication Date: 2016-02-03
Deaf Persons in the Arts and Sciences by Call Number: REF HV2373 .L36 1995ISBN: 0313291705Publication Date: 1995-08-30
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language by Call Number: REF HV2475 .G35 2005ISBN: 1563682826Publication Date: 2006-04-17
A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language by Call Number: REF HV2475 .S522 2015ISBN: 9781563686214Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Deaf Heritage by Call Number: REF HV2530 .G36ISBN: 0913072389Publication Date: 1981-01-01- Great Deaf Americans by Call Number: REF HV2534 .A3 M66 1996ISBN: 0963401661Publication Date: 1996-08-01
Encyclopedia of Deafness and Hearing Disorders by Call Number: REF RF290 .T93 2003ISBN: 0816056153Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Gale eBooks
The library has access to many online encyclopedias. Online encyclopedia articles are a great way to find out more information about a topic you don't know much about--it's like using a scholarly version of Wikipedia! You can use the search bar to look for articles on the topic you are interested in. Many of the books listed in the reference section, are available online through Gale eBooks (Reference eBooks).
Click on the picture below to get started.
For more directed searches, see the links below.
