Citations
Which Citation Style is Right for My Class?
The citation style to use is determined by your professor, or if you are submitting a manuscript, by the journal or publisher.
However, each discipline tends to use one, two, or more styles.
Anthropology - use Chicago (used to use AAA) Law & Legal Studies - use Bluebook,
Art History - use Chicago or Turabian Maroonbook or ALWD
Arts Management - use Chicago Linguistics - use APA, MLA or LSA
Biology - use CSE Mathematics - use AMS
Business - use APA, Chicago, or Harvard Medicine - use AMA or NLM
Chemistry - use ACS Music - use Turabian or Chicago
Communication - use MLA or APA Nursing- use APA
Computing Science - use Chicago Philosophy - use APA, MLA, Chicago
Criminology - use APA or Chicago Physics- use AIP
Education - use APA Political Science - use APSA
English/Literature - use MLA Psychology - use APA
History - use Chicago or Turabian Public Health-use APA
International Studies - use APA, APSA, Religion - use MLA or Chicago
Information found at the library for american.edu
Edited for relevancy to Bakersfield College.
Most Common Citation Styles
APA (American Psychological Association) - used in the social & behavioral sciences (psychology, education, nursing, sociology)
- Recommended - Purdue OWL APA Style - Includes a tutorial for citing in APA style as well as sample papers and bibliographies.
- Recommended - Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th ed. - at the reference desk and in our General Collection (Call number: BF76.7 .P83 2020)
- APA Style Simplified: Writing in Psychology, Education, Nursing, and Sociology in our General Collection (Call number: BF76.7 .B447 2012)
- Frequently Asked Questions about APA Style - Official APA style site containing tutorials and other FAQ's.
- APA style blog - Need help citing a odd source or a sample paper? Check out the official APA style blog.
Chicago Manual of Style - used in the humanites and social sciences
- Recommended - Purdue OWL Chicago Style - Includes a tutorial for citing in Chicago style as well as sample papers and bibliographies.
- Recommended- Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition - at the reference desk (Call number: Z253 .U69 2010)
MLA (Modern Language Association) - used in literature and the humanities
- Recommended - Purdue OWL MLA Style - Includes a tutorial for citing in MLA style as well as sample papers and bibliographies.
- Recommended - The MLA Style Center - Official MLA style site, containing tutorials and other FAQ's. Updated for MLA 8th edition.
- MLA Handbook, 8th edition - at the reference desk (Call number: LB2369 .G53 2016)
Turabian Style - a variation of the Chicago style used in many disciplines in humanities, social sciences and natural sciences
- Recommended - Turabian Quick Guide - From the publisher, University of Chicago Press.
- Recommended- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students & Researchers by Kate Turabian- at the reference desk (Call number: LB2369 .T8 2013)
Information found at the library for american.edu
Edited for relevancy to Bakersfield College.
Avoiding Plagiarism
