Using Library Databases
Databases are searchable collections of reliable, vetted resources, like magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and encyclopedias. We pay for access to these resources through subscriptions--like Netflix, but for articles!
- Vetted= already evaluated or fact-checked
The databases listed below are the best databases for your class.
Helpful Databases
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowA selection of databases on multiple topics containing journal and magazine articles
Below you will find a list of recommended EBSCO Databases and the themes that work best for each:
- Academic Search Complete
- This is a great general database that will cover all the themes
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
- "What's There to Eat"
- MEDLINE
- "What's There to Eat"
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
- "What's Gender Got To Do With It"
- "How Can We Bridge the Differences That Divide Us?"
- "Are We in a Race Against the Machine?"
- Applied Science & Technology
- "Are We in a Race Against the Machine?"
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowViewpoints, reference articles, and statistics covering today's hottest social issues
Below are helpful topic pages for each topic:
- How Can We Bridge The Differences That Divide Us?
- Is College the Best Option?
- Are We in a Race Against the Machine?
- What's Gender Got to do With It?
- What's There to Eat?
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reporting on the most important issues of the day
Below are helpful topic pages for each topic:
- How Can We Bridge The Differences That Divide Us?
- Is College the Best Option?
- Are We in a Race Against the Machine?
- What's Gender Got to do With It?
- What's There to Eat?
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
Searching Databases
Helpful Videos
Combining Search Terms with Boolean Operators
Truncation
