Welcome
Professor Beckworth has the following requirements:
- Minimum of 10 sources/citations
- Must be scholarly sources
- Use of one documentary
- Use of one hard copy book, magazine, etc.
He gives the following options as topics for his paper.
| History vs. Hollywood | Daily Life of a Slave |
| Fall of the Aztecs | New England & the Chesapeake Differences |
| Bacon’s Rebellion | Slave Music |
| Education in Early America | The Enlightenment in American Political Thought |
| Scotch-Irish Hillbillies | The Great Awakening in American Political Thought |
| The Middle Passage | Sports in Early America |
| The Boston Massacre | General George Washington |
| Battle of Saratoga |
Aaron Burr & Alexander Hamilton Duel |
| Trail of Tears | Battle of New Orleans |
| The Donner Party | Life of the Wealthy in the Antebellum South |
| Early Life of Abraham Lincoln |
Andrew Jackson & the Bank of the United States |
| Weapons of the Civil War |
Photography of the Civil War |
| Mission System of California | Free at Last; Juneteenth |
| Civil War Music |
Civil War Medicine |
| Women Soldiers | The Irish in Early America |
| Early American Inventions | California Gold Rush |
| The Founding of Bakersfield | Rise of the Ku Klux Klan |
Primary Sources on the life of a slave
The following links will take you lists of slave narratives in our ebook collection. Slave narratives are generally books of former slaves recounting their life as a slave. These count as primary sources as well as books.
Slaves - United States - Biography
Women slaves - United States - Biography
You can also click on the specific books below.
Behind the Scenes, or, Thirty Years a Slave, and Four Years in the White House by ISBN: 9780807869635Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Fifty Years in Chains: Or, The Life of an American Slave by ISBN: 9781469607849Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Narrative of the Life and Adventures of Henry Bibb, an American Slave, Written by Himself by ISBN: 9781469647586Publication Date: 2018-06-01
The Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass: An American Slave by ISBN: 9781536146165Publication Date: 2018-12-06
Primary Source Articles
The following is a list of some of the best databases the library has for primary sources and historical information.
- Civil War Primary Source Documents This link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of primary documents during the period of the Civil War.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowClick on the link, then scroll to find the option for America: History & Life with Full Text. This is a great place to for historical research.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new windowThis database is an archive of primary source documents going back 500 years, specifically as they relate to slavery in America.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database contains scans of newspaper articles during the 1800s in America.
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
