Skip to Main Content

ENGL B2: The Pen and the Sword : Citing Sources

Fighting (and Writing) Along the Margins in Major American Military Conflicts

Which Citation Style is Right for My Class?

The citation style to use is determined by your professor, or if you are submitting a manuscript, by the journal or publisher.

However, each discipline tends to use one or two styles.

Anthropology - use Chicago (used to use AAA)

Law & Legal Studies - use Bluebook, 

Art History - use Chicago or Turabian

Maroonbook or ALWD

Arts Management - use  Chicago

Linguistics - use APA, MLA or LSA

Biology - use CSE

Mathematics - use AMS

Business - use APA, Chicago, or Harvard

Medicine - use AMA or NLM

Chemistry - use ACS

Music - use Turabian or Chicago

Communication - use MLA or APA

Nursing- use APA

Computing Science - use Chicago

Philosophy - use MLA or Chicago

Criminology - use APA or Chicago

Physics- use AIP

Education - use APA

Political Science - use APSA

English/Literature - use MLA

Psychology - use APA

History - use Chicago or Turabian

Religion - use MLA or Chicago

International Studies - use APA, APSA, or Chicago

Sociology - use ASA or APA

Journalism - use AP or APA

Theater - use MLA or Chicago

Information found at the library for american.edu

Edited for relevancy to Bakersfield College.

Chicago/Turabian Style Citation

        

This page will help you with Chicago Style or Turabian citations for your sources. If you need further help, please use the links below or ask a reference librarian.

Turabian Style - a variation of the Chicago style based on the book written by Kate Turabian

Citing Articles in Chicago/Turabian Style

Citing Books in Chicago/Turabian Style

Avoiding Plagiarism

Examples of MLA Citations, 9th edition

For an article within a reference book within a database/e-book collection:

MLA Citation, 9th edition

MLA Handbook, 9th edition    This page will help you with MLA citation for your sources. If you need further help, please use the links below or ask a reference librarian.

 

Citing Your Sources in MLA Style, 9th edition

Find as much of the citation information below as you can for each of your sources.  Then use the indicated order, format, and punctuation to put the information together into a proper citation for each source.

Format Guidelines for Works Cited:

1. Author.

One author: Cannon, Joseph S.

Two authors: Dorrison, Michael, and Louise Erdrich.

Three or more authors: Burdick, Anne, et al.

2. Title of source.

Book title (if self-contained): The Devil’s Highway.
Title of article, webpage, or chapter name (if part of a larger work): “Anemia, Iron Depletion, and the Blood Donor: It’s Time to Work on the Donor’s Behalf.”

3. Title of container,

Title of larger work (periodical, book, website):
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice,

Academic Search Premier,

4. Other contributors,

Names of others who contributed to the source:

Edited by Howard S. Becker,

Translated by Seamus Heaney,

5. Version,

Use if a version or edition is indicated:

King James Version, Expanded ed., 3rd ed.,

6. Number,

Volume number in book series: vol. 4,

Volume & issue number for scholarly journals: vol. 22, no. 3,

7. Publisher,

If article, Name of periodical: Journal of Applied Mathematics, TIME, 

If book, Book publisher: Oxford UP, Penguin Press,

If website, Name of website: U.S. Department of Justice,

8. Publication date,

If book, Year of publication: 2003,

If article or website, day month year: 28 Sept. 2013,

9. Location.

If book or article: Page number(s): p.33., pp.97-108.

If website or video: URL or DOI, omitting the http:// and the carrot brackets < > Note: if available, use the “Permalink” option when copying the URL.

While the 9th edition does not specify that database providers be included in citations for online databases, the Bakersfield College English department has stipulated the inclusion of this information in citations for the sake of clarity. So the names of database providers, such as EBSCO and Gale, should follow the database title.