Using Library Databases
Databases are searchable collections of reliable, vetted resources, like magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and encyclopedias. We pay for access to these resources through subscriptions--like Netflix, but for articles!
- Vetted= already evaluated or fact-checked
The databases listed below are the best databases for your class.
Helpful Databases
Below you will find a list of recommended EBSCO Databases and the themes that work best for each:
- Academic Search Complete
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowViewpoints, reference articles, and statistics covering today's hottest social issues
Below are helpful topic pages for each topic:
- Language: Do Words Matter?
- Free Speech: Endangered on Campus?
- U. S. History: How Do We Remember Our Past?
- ​Race: Why Does it Still Matter?
- Immigration: Is it Our Most Serious Issue?
- Guns: Can the Second Amendment Survive?
- Identity: How Does it Shape Our Sense of Self?
- Feminism Today: What Are the Challenges?
- The News Media: How Well Does it Serve the Public?
- Gender: What are the Issues Today?
- Patriotism: Is it Obsolete?
- Political Polarization: How Disunited is the United States?
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reporting on the most important issues of the day
Language: Do Words Matter?
- Bullying and Cyberbullying
Free Speech: Endangered on Campus?
- Free Speech on Campus
A College Education: How Valuable is It?
- Issues in Higher Education
Race: Does it Still Matter?
- Racial Conflict
Diversity and Identity: How Well is American Immigration Working?
- Immigrant Detention
- Immigrants and the Economy
Guns: Can the Second Amendment Survive?
- Gun Violence
Prisons, Police, and Punishment: Is Our Criminal Justice System Broken?
- Bail Reform
- Police Tactics
Marriage: What Does it Mean Today?
- Future of Marriage
The Climate Crisis: Have We Reached the Point of No Return?
- Air Pollution & Climate
- Climate Change
- Rising Seas
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
Searching Databases
Helpful Video
Combining Search Terms with Boolean Operators
Truncation
