Using Library Databases
Databases are searchable collections of reliable, vetted resources, like magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and encyclopedias. We pay for access to these resources through subscriptions--like Netflix, but for articles!
- Vetted= already evaluated or fact-checked
The databases listed below are the best databases for your class.
Recommended Databases for This Project
You can find links to individual databases on the Library homepage under the heading "Research", subheading "Search for Sources" and link "Find all of our databases with A-Z Databases". Select databases that are relevant to your research topic.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowViewpoints, reference articles, and statistics
covering today's hottest social issues - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth coverage of the most important
issues of the day - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowEBSCO hosts several subject-related databases--look at descriptions beneath each to pick those most relevant to your topic
Some recommended for this project include:
Academic Search Complete (good for any topic)
MasterFILE Complete (good for any topic)
Health Source--Consumer Edition
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
Newspaper Source Plus
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Military & Government Collection
GreenFILE
America: History and Life with Full Text - Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
Databases 101 Video Series
Searching Databases
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
Combining Search Terms with Boolean Operators
Truncation
