Background Information
Background information is very useful when narrowing down your topic, or when first learning about your topic. Background research (or pre-search!) is the first step in the research process. Getting background information on your topic allows you to learn enough about your topic to decide which specific aspect of that topic you wish to focus on, and gives you enough information about your topic for you to be able to talk about your topic for about a minute without repeating yourself.
The best way to complete background research is to use a reference book!
Online Encyclopedias
The library has access to many online encyclopedias. Online encyclopedia articles are a great way to find out more information about a topic you don't know much about--it's like using a scholarly version of Wikipedia! You can use the search bar to look for articles on the topic you are interested in. Many of the books listed in the reference section, are available online through Gale eBooks (Reference eBooks).
Click on the picture below to get started. You may be asked to enter your BC email address and password.
For more directed searches, see the links below.
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society by ISBN: 9780028657141Publication Date: 2003-10-03Look up "Manners"
Encyclopedia of Global Studies by ISBN: 9781412964296Publication Date: 2012-03-15Look for "Civility"
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by ISBN: 9780761926115Publication Date: 2004-08-19Look up "Civility," " Civilizing Processes," and "Figurational Sociology."
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by ISBN: 9781558628472Publication Date: 2013-05-07Look up "Civil Disobedience"
How to find eBooks (Gale eBooks)
Wikipedia - Wait...I can use that??
The most famous of all encyclopedias is Wikipedia. Can't use Wikipedia, you say?! Wikipedia is a great place to gain background knowledge of a topic. You can use it for research but NOT as a resource. Here is a great video from North Carolina State University that tells you more about Wikipedia.
There is a right way and wrong way to use Wikipedia.
DO
- Do use to become familiar with a topic - Wikipedia is a great place to answer the who, what, where, why, when, and how questions of your topic. Answers to these questions can help you narrow your topic and can lead to search terms and keywords when you dig deeper into your research.
- Do look at references used in the article - Wikipedia can lead you to legitimate sources that ARE appropriate for college-level research. (You will be citing a source that is NOT Wikipedia).
- Do keep a level of skepticism - like anything online, be sure to evaluate the content of the article.
DON'T
- Don't cite Wikipedia in your bibliography or Works Cited - Use Wikipedia as background knowledge and as a springboard for future research ONLY. Wikipedia is great for pre-search. Use it as a resource for future research; not for research itself.