Specialized Literary Reference Books
These volumes are located in the Index Area (shelves between the reference desks and the stacks).
- Contemporary Literary Criticism
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Online Encyclopedias
The library has access to many online encyclopedias. Online encyclopedia articles are a great way to find out more information about a topic you don't know much about--it's like using a scholarly version of Wikipedia! You can use the search bar to look for articles on the topic you are interested in. Many of the books listed in the reference section, are available online through Gale eBooks (Reference eBooks).
Click on the picture below to get started.
For more directed searches, see the links below.
Reference Books
Consider using reference books that deal with both literature and history. Here is a sampling of the many books we have in the library.
History
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Call Number: REF B802 .W48 1996ISBN: 081602989XPublication Date: 1996-01-01
Encyclopedia of the RenaissanceCall Number: REF CB361 .E52 1999 v.1-6ISBN: 0684805146Publication Date: 1999-12-17
Encyclopedia of Romanticism: Culture in Britain, 1780s-1830s by Call Number: REF DA529 .E53 1992ISBN: 0824069978Publication Date: 1992-03-01
American Eras by Call Number: REF E174 .A44 1997 v.1-8ISBN: 9780787614775Publication Date: 1997-03-01
American Decades by Call Number: REF E741 .A44 1996 v.1-11ISBN: 0810357224Publication Date: 1996-03-26
Literature
Cyclopedia of World Authors by Call Number: REF PN451 .M36 1997 v.1-5ISBN: 0893564346Publication Date: 1997-04-01
Literary Movements for StudentsCall Number: REF PN597 .L58 2002 v.1-2ISBN: 0787665177Publication Date: 2002-09-18
World Literature and its TimesCall Number: REF PN6014 .M67 v. 1-8ISBN: 9780787637262Vol. 1 - Latin American
Vol. 2 - African
Vol. 3 - British & Irish: Celtic Migrations to the Reform Bill (beginnings - 1830)
Vol. 4 - British & Irish : The Victorian Era to Present (1837 -)
Vol. 5 - Spanish & Portuguese
Vol. 6 - Middle Eastern
Vol. 7 - Italian
Vol. 8 - Classical
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature by Call Number: REF PR19 .E53 2011 v.1-3ISBN: 9780816071616Publication Date: 2010-12-01
American Writers by Call Number: REF PS129 .A557v.1-2ISBN: 0684312484Has multiple supplements
