Using Library Databases
Databases are searchable collections of reliable, vetted resources, like magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and encyclopedias. We pay for access to these resources through subscriptions--like Netflix, but for articles!
- Vetted= already evaluated or fact-checked
Recommended Database for Person of Influence
Person of Influence
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowReference, journal, and magazine articles regarding significant people, past and present
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles from various disciplines
- Academic Search Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowScholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journal and periodical articles
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including general interest periodicals, reference books, primary source documents, photos, maps, flags
Recommended Databases for This Project
You can find links to individual databases on the Library homepage under the heading "Research", subheading "Search for Sources" and link "Find all of our databases with A-Z Databases". Select databases that are relevant to your research topic.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete
MasterFILE Complete
Applied Science & Technology Source
GreenFILE
Newspaper Source Plus
Military & Government Collection
America: History & Life - Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles from various disciplines
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowReference, journal, and magazine articles regarding significant people, past and present
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIn-depth reporting on the most important issues of the day
Databases 101 Video Series
Recommended Databases for Event of Significance
Event of Significance
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized back issues of academic journals - ideal for history research
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles from various disciplines
- Academic Search Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowScholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journal and periodical articles
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including general interest periodicals, reference books, primary source documents, photos, maps, flags
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of many of today's major newspapers, newswires and news magazines
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new windowPeriodical and academic journal articles pertaining to all branches of the military and government
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowDatabase of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Full text coverage of 200 journals and 100 books
Searching Databases
Recommended Database for Invention of Significance
Invention of Significance
- Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles in the applied sciences and computing disciplines
- Biography In Context This link opens in a new windowReference, journal, and magazine articles regarding significant people, past and present
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles from various disciplines
- Academic Search Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowScholarly, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journal and periodical articles
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database including general interest periodicals, reference books, primary source documents, photos, maps, flags
Truncation
Combining Search Terms with Boolean Operators
