Using the Library Catalog
You can search for books and eBooks in OneSearch by clicking on the link below.
Search the library catalog for a specific topic using "Subject" OR "Any field" search:
Art [tons of subtopics] Aztecs [has subtopics]
Art--Latin America Inca Art
Art--Latin America--Bibliography Indigenous art--Central America
Art--Latin America--History Indigenous art--South America
Art--Peru Kahlo, Frida
Art, Latin American [lots of subtopics] Maya art
Art, Latin American--20th century Mexican American art [this is the term for Chicano art]
Art, Latin American--History Mural painting and decoration [has subtopics]
Art, Latin American--Spanish influences Mural painting and decoration, Mexican [has subtopics]
Art, Latin American--United States Olmec art
Artists--Latin America Painters--Mexico--Biography
Artists--Mexico Painting, Mexican [has subtopics]
Sculpture [has subtopics]
Also browse the Oversize Collection in the half-bookcases.
Information Needed from OneSearch to Find Book on Shelf
Once you have search results, click on one of the books. A screen for that book will pop up
For each book you will see the citation information, description, collection, call number, and status.
Always check the status first to make sure it says "Available" before you get too excited about a book.
Then check which collection it can be found in. If it says "General Collection" it is in the white-labeled bookcases, and if it says "Reference Collection" it is in the green-labeled bookcases. If it says "Delano Library", it's at the Delano Campus.
Lastly, always write down the entire call number! See the box below about how to use that to find the book on the shelf.
Finding Books on the Library Shelf
Call Number= the address of the book on its spine
The signs on the end of the bookcases only refer to first two lines of a call #.
Pay attention to "collection" on the book entry in the catalog:
REFERENCE= Green-labeled bookcases
GENERAL= White-labeled bookcases
Once in correct aisle, read call number, matching one line at a time, until find the right book. Browse the shelves around it for possibly more books on your topic.
General Books
The following books can be found in the library's General Collection, or the white-labeled book shelves. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. You can check out 20 general books at one time. Each book can be checked out for 3 weeks, with up to two renewals of 3 weeks each.
Chicanx Utopias: Pop Culture and the Politics of the Possible by Call Number: E184.M5 A663 2022ISBN: 9781477324479Publication Date: 2022-03-29Chapter 4 is about the No Human Being Is Illegal poster art project, which focused on Latin American migrant populations , created by Latin American artists. Book does contain some color plates of example posters.
Rewriting the Chicano Movement: New Histories of Mexican American Activism in the Civil Rights Era by Call Number: E184.M5 R438 2021ISBN: 9780816542611Publication Date: 2021-03-09At least 2 chapters related to murals; also available at Delano Campus library.
Handbook to Life in the Aztec World by Call Number: F1219.73 .A35 2006ISBN: 0816056730Publication Date: 2005-12-01Especially chapter 8 on art, and chapter 9 on architecture.
Handbook to Life in the Inca World by Call Number: F3429 .S93 2011ISBN: 9780816074495Publication Date: 2011-06-01Has chapters on art and architecture.Contemporary Art in Latin America: Painting, Graphic Art, Sculpture, Architecture. by
Call Number: N6502 .C42Publication Date: 1970
The Art of Colonial Latin America by Call Number: N6502.2 .B35 2005ISBN: 0714841579Publication Date: 2005-01-19
Latin American Art of the 20th Century by Call Number: N6502.5 .L83 1993ISBN: 0500202605Publication Date: 1993-06-01
Art of Latin America, 1900-1980 by Call Number: N6502.5 .T713 1994ISBN: 0940602717Publication Date: 1994-05-01
The Latin American Spirit: Art and Artists in the United States, 1920-1970 : Essays by Call Number: N6538 .L3 L38 1988ISBN: 9780810912717Publication Date: 1988-10-01Helpful for both Latin American abstract art and Chicano Art.
Chicano Visions: American Painters on the Verge by Call Number: N6538 .M4 M37 2002ISBN: 9780821228067Publication Date: 2002-09-23
Contemporary Chican@ Art: Color & Culture for a New America by Call Number: N6538.M4 V37 2010ISBN: 9780292721166Publication Date: 2010-02-15
Art and Architecture in Mexico by Call Number: N6550 .O44 2013ISBN: 9780500204061Publication Date: 2013-09-09
Essays on Mexican Art by Call Number: N6550 .P26 1993ISBN: 9780151290635Publication Date: 1993-05-01
Mexican Masters: Rivera, Orozco, and Siqueiros : Selections from the Museo de Arte by Call Number: N6555 .M42 2005ISBN: 9780911919035Publication Date: 2006-07-01Mural painting in 1920s and 30s.
México, 1900-1950: Diego Rivera, Frida Kahlo, José Clemente Orozco and the Avant-garde by Call Number: N6555.5 .M63 M4913 2017ISBN: 9780300229950Publication Date: 2017-06-06
Diego Rivera's Mural at the Rockefeller Center by Call Number: N6559 .R58 L313 1990Publication Date: 1990
Art of the Fantastic: Latin America, 1920-1987 by Call Number: N8217 .F28 D39 1987ISBN: 9780936260181Publication Date: 1987-06-01Contains Frida Kahlo and Joaquin Torres-Garcia, and many other Latin American artists from the essay prompts' time periods.
Mexican Painters: Rivera, Orozco, Siqueiros and Other Artists of the Social Realist School by Call Number: ND255 .H4 1989ISBN: 9780486260280Publication Date: 1989-05-01
Frida Kahlo at Home by Call Number: ND259.K33 B37 2016ISBN: 9780711237322Publication Date: 2016-10-27
Frida: The Biography of Frida Kahlo by Call Number: ND259.K33 H47 2018ISBN: 9781526605313Publication Date: 2018
Siqueiros: A Biography of a Revolutionary Artist by Call Number: ND259.S56 W49 2008ISBN: 9781439211724Publication Date: 2009-03-20
General Books, Continued
Mexican Muralists: Orozco, Rivera, Siqueiros by Call Number: ND2644 .R594 1998ISBN: 9780811819282Publication Date: 1998-03-012 copies available
A History of Mexican Mural Painting : With 312 Illustrations, 56 in Colour by Call Number: ND2644 .R598 1969Publication Date: 1969
Olmec: Colossal Masterworks of Ancient Mexico by Call Number: OVERSIZE F1219.8.O56 O465 2010ISBN: 9780300166767Publication Date: 2010-10-26
Art of the Maya by Call Number: OVERSIZE F1435.3 .A7 A6513 1970bISBN: 9780500231296Publication Date: 1970
Diego Rivera by Call Number: OVERSIZE ND259.R5 A4 2008ISBN: 9783822849439Publication Date: 2007-09-01
eBooks
These books are found in our eBook collection, so they are available online and not in print on our shelves. Clicking on the book title will take you to a page where you can click on the link under the "View Online" section, which takes you to another page where you need to click on the PDF in the left margin to read the full book.
Art and Architecture of Viceregal Latin America, 1521-1821 by ISBN: 9780826334596Publication Date: 2008-03-16
Art History as Social Praxis : The Collected Writings of David Craven by ISBN: 9004235868Publication Date: 2017Contains essays on various Latin American artists and art styles, including abstract art.
Body, Subject and Subjected by ISBN: 9781845197407Publication Date: 2016-01-01This collection of critical essays about the fixation on the human self addresses a multi-faceted geographic set of cultures - the Iberian Peninsula to pre-Columbian America and Hispanic America - analyzing such representations from medical, literal and metaphorical perspectives over centuries.
The Early Olmec and Mesoamerica: The Material Record by ISBN: 1316228096Publication Date: 2017-04-28
Identity, Nation, Discourse:Latin American Women Writers and Artists by ISBN: 9781443803472Publication Date: 2009-04-01
On Art, Artists, Latin America, and Other Utopias by ISBN: 9780292799141Publication Date: 2010-09-01
