Music Journals at BC
The BC Library has online subscriptions to 98 music journals, listed in the link below. This means you can access them using the databases linked below each title.
The BC Library also subscribed to The Musical Quarterly, a print journal about music. We have issues from 1927-1940, and 1957-1980.
You can find this journal in the Periodicals collection of the library, on the right. The current year of issues can be found in on the pink-labeled shelves, while the older issues of the journals will be on the blue-labeled shelves. As the latest issue we have from The Musical Quarterly is 1980, all of the issues will be in the blue-labeled section. The journals on both the pink and blue shelves are organized alphabetically by journal title.
Databases for Music Research
The databases in the links below are all databases that you can use to find full-text, scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles about music. You can also use these databases to find newspaper or magazine articles about music.
You can find links to individual databases on the Library homepage under the heading "A-Z Library Resources".
- Oxford Music OnlineWith over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, Grove Music Online (GMO) is the authoritative resource for music research with an ongoing mission to chart the diverse history and cultures of music and musicians from around the globe.
- Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new windowApplied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
Searching Databases
Truncation
Combining Search Terms with Boolean Operators
