Using the Library Catalog
You can search for books and eBooks in OneSearch by clicking on the link below.
Search the library catalog for a specific topic using "Subject" OR "Any field" in drop-down menu:
Art [tons of subtopics] Impressionism (Art) [has subtopics]
Art--Europe--History Modernism (Art) [has subtopics]
Art, Baroque [has subtopics] Painters [has subtopics]
Art, European [has subtopics] Painting [has lots of subtopics]
Art, Modern [has subtopics] Painting, American [has subtopics]
Art, Modern--21st century [use for contemporary art] Painting, European [has subtopics]
Art, Renaissance [has subtopics] Photography, Artistic [has subtopics]
Art nouveau Pop art
Artists [has subtopics] Post-impressionism (Art)
Drawing [has subtopics] Realism in art
Expressionism (Art) [has subtopics] Sculpture [has subtopics]
Also browse the Oversize Collection in the half-bookcases.
General Books
The following books can be found in the library's General Collection, or the white-labeled book shelves. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. You can check out 20 general books at one time. Each book can be checked out for 3 weeks, with up to two renewals of 3 weeks each.
Great Women Masters of Art by Call Number: N43 .V5413 2002ISBN: 0823021149Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Famous Works of Art--and How They Got That Way by Call Number: N72.5 .N53 2015ISBN: 9781442249547Publication Date: 2015-09-17
The Art of Activism and the Activism of Art by Call Number: N72.P6 S56 2022ISBN: 9781848224414Publication Date: 2022-11-25Masterpieces from the Metropolitan Museum of Art by
Call Number: N610 .A6742 1993ISBN: 0870996770Publication Date: 1997-06-01Larousse Encyclopedia of Renaissance and Baroque Art by
Call Number: N6350 .H813Publication Date: 1964
Baroque and Rococo: Art & Culture by Call Number: N6410 .M56 1999ISBN: 0130856495Publication Date: 1999-09-30
Larousse Encyclopedia of Modern Art: From 1800 to the Present Day by Call Number: N6450 .H813 1965Publication Date: 1965*Keep in mind that the "present day" is 1965 for this book.
Essential History of American Art by Call Number: N6505.B355 2002ISBN: 0752553550Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Random Order: Robert Rauschenberg and the Neo-Avant-Garde by Call Number: N6537 .R27 J67 2003ISBN: 9780262100991Publication Date: 2003-09-12
Black Artists in America: From the Great Depression to Civil Rights by Call Number: N6538.B53 J46 2021ISBN: 9780300260908Publication Date: 2022-01-25
The Unfinished Business of Unsettled Things: Art from an African American South by Call Number: N6538.B53 U54 2022ISBN: 9781469668529Publication Date: 2022-06-28
Painting and Sculpture in Europe, 1880-1940 by Call Number: N6757 .H3 1981ISBN: 0140561293Publication Date: 1978-01-26
David Hockney. a Chronology. 40th Ed by Call Number: N6797.H57 D382 2020ISBN: 9783836582490Publication Date: 2021-01-08
The Los Angeles Watts Towers by Call Number: NA2930 .G65 1997ISBN: 9780892364916Publication Date: 1997-12-04
Franz Kafka: The Drawings by Call Number: NC312.C93 K3413 2022ISBN: 9780300260663Publication Date: 2022-05-31
Gems of Art on Paper: Illustrated American Fiction and Poetry, 1785-1885 by Call Number: NC975 .B37 2021ISBN: 9781613768969Publication Date: 2021-11-26Also available as an eBook!
The Seventeenth Century: The New Developments in Art from Caravaggio to Vermeer by Call Number: ND180 .D8Publication Date: 1951
Audubon, Homer, Whistler and 19th Century America by Call Number: ND210 .W556 1970ISBN: 0841510016Publication Date: 1970
General Books, Continued
Sam Francis: Catalogue Raisonné of Canvas and Panel Paintings, 1946-1994 by Call Number: ND237 .F67 A4 2011ISBN: 9780520264304Publication Date: 2011-10-25
Selected paintings at the Norton Simon Museum, Pasadena, California by Call Number: ND450 .S44 1980xISBN: 9780856670947Publication Date: 1980
J.M.W. Turner, 1775-1851 : The World of Light and Colour by Call Number: ND497.T8 B613 1993ISBN: 3822805548Publication Date: 1994-02-01
Titian: Prince of Painters by Call Number: ND623.T7 A4 1990aISBN: 9783791311029Publication Date: 2003-06-01
Techniques of the Great Masters of ArtCall Number: ND1260 .T4 1985ISBN: 9780890098790Publication Date: 1985
The Jerusalem Windows by Call Number: NK5398.C5 L433 1975Publication Date: 1975Contains dimensions of prepatory drawings and stained-glass windows of the 12 tribes of Israel, created by Marc Chagall.
POPism: The Warhol '60s by Call Number: NX512.W37 A2 1980ISBN: 9780151730957Publication Date: 1980-03-01
Mannerism, the European Style of the Sixteenth Century by Call Number: OVERSIZE N6370 .W813 1963Publication Date: 1963Oversized Collection in half-bookcasesMosaics by
Call Number: OVERSIZE NA 3750 .M971 1989ISBN: 0831760915Publication Date: 1989-08-01Starting on p. 225, onward. Chapters "Renaissance Mosaics", "Mosaic in the Eighteenth Century", and "From Traditional to Modern Styles".
Oversized Collection in half-bookcases
Renoir: His Life, Art, and Letters by Call Number: OVERSIZE ND553.R45 W452 1988ISBN: 9780810980884Publication Date: 1988-09-15Oversized Collection in half-bookcases
Van Gogh: A Retrospective by Call Number: OVERSIZE ND653.G7 A4 1986aISBN: 9780883637869Publication Date: 1986-10-01Oversized Collection in half-bookcases
Information Needed from OneSearch to Find Book on Shelf
Once you have search results, click on one of the books. A screen for that book will pop up
For each book you will see the citation information, description, collection, call number, and status.
Always check the status first to make sure it says "Available" before you get too excited about a book.
Then check which collection it can be found in. If it says "General Collection" it is in the white-labeled bookcases, and if it says "Reference Collection" it is in the green-labeled bookcases. If it says "Delano Library", it's at the Delano Campus.
Lastly, always write down the entire call number! See the box below about how to use that to find the book on the shelf.
Finding Books on the Library Shelf
Call Number= the address of the book on its spine
The signs on the end of the bookcases only refer to first two lines of a call #.
Pay attention to "collection" on the book entry in the catalog:
REFERENCE= Green-labeled bookcases
GENERAL= White-labeled bookcases
Once in correct aisle, read call number, matching one line at a time, until find the right book. Browse the shelves around it for possibly more books on your topic.
eBooks
These books are found in our eBook collection, so they are available online and not in print on our shelves. Clicking on the book title will take you to a page where you can click on the link under the "View Online" section, which takes you to another page where you need to click on the PDF in the left margin to read the full book.
Art in an Age of Civil Struggle, 1848-1871 by ISBN: 1281959162Publication Date: 2010-01-10Especially related to Realism.
Art in England: The Saxons to the Tudors: 600-1600 by ISBN: 9781785702235Publication Date: 2016-09-19
Art Nouveau by ISBN: 1283952122Publication Date: 2012-01-01Related to art in 19th Century France and its Industrial Revolution.
Context Providers: Conditions of Meaning in Media Arts by ISBN: 1841505390Publication Date: 2011-01-01"Context Providers supplies a context and a rationale for discussing how technological change has affected the function of art, the role of the artist, and the way artistic productions are disseminated."
Crowning Glories: Netherlandish Realism and the French Imagination During the Reign of Louis XIV by ISBN: 1487530145Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Historical Dictionary of Baroque Art and Architecture by ISBN: 1538111292Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Irish Fine Art in the Early Modern Period: New Perspectives on Artistic Practice, 1620-1820 by ISBN: 9781911024262Publication Date: 2016-11-04
Realism in the Age of Impressionism: Painting and the Politics of Time by ISBN: 0300212852Publication Date: 2015-07-24
Renaissance? Perceptions of Continuity and Discontinuity in Europe, C. 1300- C. 1550 by ISBN: 1282948741Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Women, Art and the Politics of Identity in Eighteenth-Century Europe by ISBN: 9780754607106Publication Date: 2003-11-28
