Welcome
Professor Beckworth has the following requirements:
- Minimum of 7 sources/citations
- Must be scholarly sources
- 3 of the sources must be books or eBooks
- Optional use of one documentary
- Sources not allowed: Wikipedia, the textbook, encyclopedias, dot coms, history.com
He gives the following options as topics for his paper.
| History vs. Hollywood | Daily Life of a Slave |
| Fall of the Aztecs | Puritan Theology & Lifestyle |
| Nathaniel Bacon’s Rebellion | Slave Music |
| Education in Colonial New England | The Enlightenment in American Political Thought |
| Scotch-Irish "Hillbillies" | The Great Awakening in American Political Thought |
| The Middle Passage | Sports in Early America |
| The Boston Massacre | John Paul Jones & the Bonhomme Richard |
| American Loyalists |
Aaron Burr & Alexander Hamilton Duel |
| Trail of Tears | The Rise of New Orleans |
| The Donner Party | Life of the Wealthy in the Antebellum South |
| Early Life of Abraham Lincoln |
Andrew Jackson & the Bank of the United States |
| Quakers & the Underground Railroad |
Abraham Lincoln; Commander-in-Chief |
| Photography of the Civil War | Robert E. Lee at Gettysburg |
| Mission System of California |
Free at Last; Slaves at the Moment of Freedom |
| Early American Inventions | Chinese 49ers & the California Gold Rush |
17A History vs. Hollywood Movie List
The Crucible
The Crossing
Last of the Mohicans
The Patriot
Revolution
Andersonville
Lincoln
Cold Mountain
The Conspirator
Free State of Jones
Gettysburg
Gods and Generals
Glory
The Red Badge of Courage
Shenandoah
Amistad
12 Years a Slave
Dances With Wolves
The Alamo
Gangs of New York
The New World
Tecumseh: The Last Warrior
Pocahontas
In the Heart of the Sea
The Revenant
Harriet
Email Beckworth if there is a movie you want to use that is not on this list, for approval
Primary Sources on the life of a slave
The following links will take you lists of slave narratives in our ebook collection. Slave narratives are generally books of former slaves recounting their life as a slave. These count as primary sources as well as books.
Slaves - United States - Biography
Women slaves - United States - Biography
You can also click on the specific books below.
Behind the Scenes, or, Thirty Years a Slave, and Four Years in the White House by ISBN: 9780807869635Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Fifty Years in Chains: Or, The Life of an American Slave by ISBN: 9781469607849Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Narrative of the Life and Adventures of Henry Bibb, an American Slave, Written by Himself by ISBN: 9781469647586Publication Date: 2018-06-01
The Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass: An American Slave by ISBN: 9781536146165Publication Date: 2018-12-06
Primary Source Articles
The following is a list of some of the best databases the library has for primary sources and historical information.
- Civil War Primary Source Documents This link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of primary documents during the period of the Civil War.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowClick on the link, then scroll to find the option for America: History & Life with Full Text. This is a great place to for historical research.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery This link opens in a new windowThis database is an archive of primary source documents going back 500 years, specifically as they relate to slavery in America.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database contains scans of newspaper articles during the 1800s in America.
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
