Citations in Art Class
Art History classes typically use Chicago/Turabian Style for citations and page set-up. However, the citation style to use is determined by your professor, so make sure to use the style indicated by your professor. Some art professors allow students to use MLA, so you will find help below for both Chicago/Turabian and MLA styles.
Avoiding Plagiarism
Chicago/Turabian Style Citation
This page will help you with Chicago Style or Turabian citations for your sources. If you need further help, please use the links below or ask a reference librarian.
Turabian Style - a variation of the Chicago style based on the book written by Kate Turabian
Citing Articles in Chicago/Turabian Style
Citing Books in Chicago/Turabian Style
Footnotes/Endnotes in Chicago/Turabian Style
When citing sources in Chicago/Turabian style, the in-text citations look a little different than for styles such as MLA or APA styles. Instead of using a parenthetical in-text citation, you will use what is called a footnote or endnote to reference the sources you are using in your paper.
To cite a source within the text of your paper, you will put a superscript number after a quote or paraphrase. Citation numbers should appear in sequential order (i.e., you should begin with 1 and continue numerically throughout the paper). Do not start the order over on each page.
If using endnotes, numbered notes will appear on a separate endnotes page at the end of your document and before the bibliography page. The page should be titled Notes (centered at top).
Footnotes must appear at the bottom of the page that they are referred to.
Example
Cole found that "The bones were very fragile".1
Each superscript then refers to a numbered citation in the footnotes or endnotes.
The first time the in-text reference is cited you must include, author's first name, author's last name, title, place of publication, publisher name, year and referenced pages. e.g.
1. James Smith, The first and last war, (New York, Hamilton, 2003), 2.
If the citation has already been cited it may be shortened to author's last name, shortened title, and page referenced number. e.g.
2. Smith, The first, 220-221.
If the citation has been referenced immediately prior, the note may be shortened even further to ibid with the page number. e.g.
3. Ibid., 786.
MLA Citation, 9th edition
This page will help you with MLA citation for your sources. If you need further help, please use the links below or ask a reference librarian.
Citing Your Sources in MLA Style, 9th edition
Find as much of the citation information below as you can for each of your sources. Then use the indicated order, format, and punctuation to put the information together into a proper citation for each source.
Format Guidelines for Works Cited:
|
1. Author. |
One author: Cannon, Joseph S. Two authors: Dorrison, Michael, and Louise Erdrich. Three or more authors: Burdick, Anne, et al. |
|
2. Title of source. |
Book title (if self-contained): The Devil’s Highway. |
|
3. Title of container, |
Title of larger work (periodical, book, website): Academic Search Premier, |
|
4. Other contributors, |
Names of others who contributed to the source: Edited by Howard S. Becker, Translated by Seamus Heaney, |
|
5. Version, |
Use if a version or edition is indicated: King James Version, Expanded ed., 3rd ed., |
|
6. Number, |
Volume number in book series: vol. 4, Volume & issue number for scholarly journals: vol. 22, no. 3, |
|
7. Publisher, |
If article, Name of periodical: Journal of Applied Mathematics, TIME, If book, Book publisher: Oxford UP, Penguin Press, If website, Name of website: U.S. Department of Justice, |
|
8. Publication date, |
If book, Year of publication: 2003, If article or website, day month year: 28 Sept. 2013, |
|
9. Location. |
If book or article: Page number(s): p.33., pp.97-108. If website or video: URL or DOI, omitting the http:// and the carrot brackets < > Note: if available, use the “Permalink” option when copying the URL. |
While the 9th edition does not specify that database providers be included in citations for online databases, the Bakersfield College English department has stipulated the inclusion of this information in citations for the sake of clarity. So the names of database providers, such as EBSCO and Gale, should follow the database title.
Things to Notice About MLA Citations, 9th edition
What does MLA mean by container??
You will be searching for articles within periodicals within databases.
article Container 1=periodical Container 2=database
Examples of MLA Citations, 9th edition
For an article within a reference book within a database/e-book collection:
