Using the Library Catalog
Books can be found in the library's General Collection, or the white-labeled book shelves. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. You can check out 20 general books at one time. Each book can be checked out for 3 weeks, with up to two renewals of 3 weeks each.
Some books are found in our eBook collection, so they are available online and not in print on our shelves. Clicking on the book title will take you to a page where you can click on the link under the "View Online" section, which takes you to another page where you need to click on the PDF in the left margin to read the full book.
Helpful Search Terms for "Subject" Search in OneSearch
- Paleolithic Europe Sculptures & Cave Paintings
Paleolithic period
Art, Prehistoric--Europe
Art, Primitive
Cave paintings
Cave paintings--France
Cave paintings--Spain
- Mesopotamian Art
Iraq--Civilization
Iraq--Civilization--To 634
**“Any field” Advanced Search for either Mesopotamia or Hammurabi
- 18th Dynasty in Egypt, Hatshepsut, & Akhenaten
Egypt--History--Eighteenth dynasty, ca. 1570-1320 B.C.
Hatshepsut, Queen of Egypt
Akhenaten, King of Egypt
- Greek Architecture & the Acropolis
Art, Greek
Architecture, Greek
- Roman Borrowings from Greek Art in Architecture & Sculpture
Art, Greek
Architecture, Roman
Sculpture, Roman
- Byzantine Art and Architecture
Art, Byzantine
Architecture, Byzantine
- Early Medieval Monasteries & Role of Monks in Art & Architecture
Art, Medieval
Art, Medieval--History
Christian Art and Symbolism--Medieval, 500-1500
Christian Art and Symbolism--Medieval, 500-1500--History
Paleolithic Europe Sculptures & Cave Paintings
The Nature of Paleolithic Art by Call Number: GN772 .G87 2005ISBN: 0226311260Publication Date: 2006-02-01
The Roots of Civilization: The Cognitive Beginnings of Man's First Art, Symbol, and Notation by Call Number: GN772 .M3Publication Date: 1972
Paleolithic Art by Call Number: OVERSIZE N5310 .G663Publication Date: 1960Oversize Collection can be found in half-bookcases near front of library.
Treasures of Prehistoric Art by Call Number: OVERSIZE N5310 .L5313Publication Date: 1967Oversize Collection can be found in half-bookcases near front of library.
Mesoptamian Art
Atlas of Mesopotamia: A Survey of the History and Civilization of Mesopotamia from the Stone Age to the Fall of Babylon by Call Number: ATLAS COLLECTION G2251.E6 B42 1962Publication Date: 1962The Atlas Collection can be found in the half-bookcases next to the atlas stand.
Daily Life in Ancient Mesopotamia by Call Number: DS69.5 .N4 1998ISBN: 0313294976Publication Date: 1998-09-24
Ancient Mesopotamia at the Dawn of Civilization by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780226013787Publication Date: 2009-05-15
From Mesopotamia to Iraq: A Concise History by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780226586656Publication Date: 2009-09-15
18th Dynasty in Egypt, Hatshepsut, & Akhenaten
Egypt: Lost Civilizations by Call Number: DT61 .R527 2017ISBN: 9781780237268Publication Date: 2017-07-15
The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and Its People by Call Number: DT73.T25 K46 2012ISBN: 9780500051733Publication Date: 2012-11-19
The Woman Who Would Be King by Call Number: DT87.15 .C66 2014ISBN: 9780307956767Publication Date: 2014-10-14
Hatshepsut: From Queen to Pharaoh by Call Number: DT87.15 .H378 2005ISBN: 9780300111392Publication Date: 2005-11-11
Hatchepsut: The Female Pharaoh by Call Number: DT87.15 .T95 1998ISBN: 9780140244649Publication Date: 1998-07-01
Beyond the Nile: Egypt and the Classical World by Call Number: N5603.L67 J253 2018ISBN: 9781606065518Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Greek Architecture and the Acropolis
Then and Now: The Roman Colosseum, the Acropolis, the Mexican Pyramid of the Moon, Machu Picchu, and 16 Other Fabled Sites by Call Number: CB311 .P45 1991ISBN: 0025994611Publication Date: 1991-11-01
Greek Art and Archaeology by Call Number: DF130 .P44 1993ISBN: 0133658007Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Ancient Greece: Art, Architecture, and History by Call Number: N5630 .B374 2004ISBN: 9780892366958Publication Date: 2004-03-11
Greece: From Mycenae to the Parthenon by Call Number: NA270 .S74 2001ISBN: 9783822812259Publication Date: 2001-04-29
The Earth, the Temple, and the Gods: Greek Sacred Architecture by Call Number: NA275 .S3 2013ISBN: 9781595341761Publication Date: 2014-01-21The Parthenon of Ancient Greece by
Call Number: NA281 .N37 1999ISBN: 1560064315Publication Date: 1998-09-01
The Greek Vase: Art of the Storyteller by Call Number: NK4645 .O23 2013ISBN: 9781606061473Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Greek Athletics & Festivals in the Fifth Century by Call Number: OVERSIZE N520 .A75 no. 2Publication Date: 1939Oversize Collection can be found in half-bookcases near front of library
Roman Borrowings from Greek Art in Architecture/City Planning or Sculpture
- Then and Now: The Roman Colosseum, the Acropolis, the Mexican Pyramid of the Moon, Machu Picchu, and 16 Other Fabled Sites by Call Number: CB311 .P45 1991ISBN: 0025994611Publication Date: 1991-11-01
Statues in Roman Society: Representation and Response by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781429469302Publication Date: 2003-01-01
The Art of Ancient Greece by Call Number: N5634.W35 W35 2008ISBN: 9780856676437Publication Date: 2007-11-28Even has a chapter on Roman Copies!
The Architecture of the Roman Empire by Call Number: NA310 .M2 1982ISBN: 0300034563Publication Date: 1986-09-10
Roman Imperial Architecture by Call Number: NA310 .W34 1994ISBN: 0300052928Publication Date: 1992-11-25
Byzantine Art and Architecture
The Oxford Handbook of Byzantine Art and Architecture by Call Number: N6250 .O94 2021ISBN: 9780190277352Publication Date: 2021-12-31
Early Christian and Byzantine Art by Call Number: N7832 .B3 1979ISBN: 0140561331Publication Date: 1980-02-28Mosaics by
Call Number: OVERSIZE NA 3750 .M971 1989ISBN: 0831760915Publication Date: 1989-08-01chapter "Byzantine Treasures" starts p.101
Early Medieval Monasteries & Role of Monks in Art & Architecture
The Age of the Cathedrals: Art and Society, 980-1420 by Call Number: N5970 .D8313 1983ISBN: 0226167704Publication Date: 1983-02-15
Medieval Art: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, 4th-14th Century by Call Number: N5975 .S58 1988ISBN: 0810915324Publication Date: 1989-03-01- The Oxford Handbook of Byzantine Art and Architecture by Call Number: N6250 .O94 2021ISBN: 9780190277352Publication Date: 2021-12-31
Monastery and Cathedral in France: Medieval Architecture, Sculpture, Stained Glass, Manuscripts, the Art of the Church Treasuries by Call Number: N6843 .S7Publication Date: 1966
Christian Iconography: The History of Christian Art in the Middle Ages, 2 vols. by Call Number: N7832 .D4913 1965Publication Date: 1965
Information Needed from OneSearch to Find Book on Shelf
Once you have search results, click on one of the books. A screen for that book will pop up
For each book you will see the citation information, description, collection, call number, and status.
Always check the status first to make sure it says "Available" before you get too excited about a book.
Then check which collection it can be found in. If it says "General Collection" it is in the white-labeled bookcases, and if it says "Reference Collection" it is in the green-labeled bookcases. If it says "Delano Library", it's at the Delano Campus.
Lastly, always write down the entire call number! See the box below about how to use that to find the book on the shelf.
Finding Books on the Library Shelf
Call Number= the address of the book on its spine
The signs on the end of the bookcases only refer to first two lines of a call #.
Pay attention to "collection" on the book entry in the catalog:
REFERENCE= Green-labeled bookcases
GENERAL= White-labeled bookcases
OVERSIZE= Half bookcases near front of library
Once in correct aisle, read call number, matching one line at a time, until find the right book. Browse the shelves around it for possibly more books on your topic.