Skip to Main Content

HIST B1 : World History: Finding Books

Survey of the historical development of different world societies' major economic, intellectual, political, religious, cultural and social ideas and institutions from Paleolithic humanity to the Early Modern Era.

Using the Library Catalog

 

Search for books and eBooks in the Catalog (OneSearch) by clicking on the link: BC Library OneSearch.

 Ancient Manuscripts                                

 Lost Lovers and Heroes: 90% of Medieval Manuscripts Have Not Survived | Ancient Origins           6 Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts That Will Amaze You           Illuminated Manuscripts | Hobble Creek            Scene of meal. Feast served to King Alexander and his courtiers in the last days of his life. Miniature from "La Vraye Histoire du Bon Roy Alixandre"...         Illuminated Manuscript, Book of Hours in Dutch, Initial H with the Apocalyptic Madonna and Child, Walters Manuscript W.918, fol. 14r | Illuminated manuscript, Book of hours, Illustrated manuscript          Exploring Our Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts - Medieval manuscripts blog  

 

Books

Books can be found in the library's General Collection, or the white-labeled book shelves. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. You can check out 20 general books at one time. Each book can be checked out for 3 weeks, with up to two renewals of 3 weeks each.

Research 101: How to Access eBooks Part 1

These books are found in our eBook collection, so they are available online and not in print on our shelves. Clicking on the book title will take you to a page where you can click on the link under the "View Online" section, which takes you to another page where you need to click on the PDF in the left margin to read the full book.

Research 101: How to Access eBooks Part 2

Subject Headings

The online library catalog (One Search) uses specific labels for subject headings/topics, and books are "tagged" in the computer by those terms according to their topics.  The online library catalog is expecting you to use those specific search terms when you do a "Subject" search.

If you need help figuring out the right words to use, ask a Reference Librarian!

        
 

Information Needed from OneSearch to Find Book on Shelf

Once you have search results, click on one of the books.  A screen for that book will pop upbook info page, with info on availability, collection, and call number highlighted

For each book you will see the citation information, description, collection, call number, and status. 

Always check the status first to make sure it says "Available" before you get too excited about a book. 

Then check which collection it can be found in.  If it says "General Collection" it is in the white-labeled bookcases, and if it says "Reference Collection" it is in the green-labeled bookcases. If it says "Delano  Library", it's at the Delano Campus. 

Lastly, always write down the entire call number!  See the box below about how to use that to find the book on the shelf. 

Finding Books on the Library Shelf

Call Number= the address of the book on its spine

The signs on the end of the bookcases only refer to first two lines of a call #.

Pay attention to "collection" on the book entry in the catalog:  

REFERENCE= Green-labeled bookcases

GENERAL= White-labeled bookcases

Once in correct aisle, read call number, matching one line at a time, until find the right book.  Browse the shelves around it for possibly more books on your topic.