Using Library Databases
First magazine, Erbauliche Monaths-Unterredungen was created Johann Rist of Germany in 1663
Databases are searchable collections of reliable, vetted resources, like magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and encyclopedias. We pay for access to these resources through subscriptions--like Netflix, but for articles!
- Vetted= already evaluated or fact-checked
The databases listed below are the best databases for your class.
Recommended Databases for This Project
- World History In Context This link opens in a new windowUncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
- World History: OneFile This link opens in a new windowCoverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigitized back issues of academic journals - ideal for history research
You can find links to individual databases on the Library homepage under the heading "A-Z Database List". Select databases that are relevant to your research topic.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowA selection of databases on multiple topics containing journal and magazine articles
- Gale Power Search This link opens in a new windowSearch all Gale content (except Gale Literature) from one search platform
- Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new windowJournal and magazine articles from various disciplines
Databases 101 Video Series
Searching Databases
Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles
Truncation
Combining Search Terms with Boolean Operators
