Cite It Right!: Citation Styles

APA (American Psychological Association) - used in the social & behavioral sciences (psychology, education, nursing, sociology)

• APA Style and Grammar Guidelines- from American Psychological Association
• Purdue OWL APA Style - Includes a tutorial for citing in APA style as well as sample papers and bibliographies.
• Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed. - at the reference desk and in our Reference Collection (See links in box with books below.)
• APA style blog - Need help citing a odd source or a sample paper? Check out the official APA style blog.

Chicago Manual of Style - used in the humanites and social sciences 

• Purdue OWL Chicago Style - Includes a tutorial for citing in Chicago style as well as sample papers and bibliographies.
• Chicago Manual of Style 18th edition - at the reference desk and General Collection (See links in box with books below.)

MLA (Modern Language Association) - used in literature and the humanities 

• Purdue OWL MLA Style - Includes a tutorial for citing in MLA style as well as sample papers and bibliographies.
• The MLA Style Center - Official MLA style site, containing tutorials and other FAQ's. 
• MLA Handbook, 9th edition - at the reference desk (See links in box with books below.)

Turabian Style - a variation of the Chicago style used in many disciplines in humanities, social sciences and natural sciences​

• Turabian Quick Guide - From the publisher, University of Chicago Press.
• A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students & Researchers by Kate Turabian- at the reference desk (See links in box with books below.)

Information found at the library for american.edu

Edited for relevancy to Bakersfield College.

• ACS (American Chemical Society) - Chemistry - The ACS Style Guide - Official online source from the American Chemical Society or earlier edition in print in the General Collection (See links in box with books below.).
• AIP (American Institute of Physics) - Physics - AIP Style Manual - Official rules from the AIP Style Manual from Carleton College Physics Department website.
• ALWD (Association of Legal Writing Directors) - Legal Studies - ALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation. See also Introduction to Basic Legal Citation by Peter W. Martin for a well organized guide that refers to both the ALWD Citation Manual and The Bluebook.
• AMA (American Medical Association) - Medical Sciences - AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors online AMA Style Guide from University of Evansville Libraries.  Purdue OWL AMA Style Guidelines.
• AMS (American Mathematical Society) - Mathematics - AMS Author Handbook - Official source from American Mathematical Society.
• APSA (American Political Science Association) - Political Science, International Studies -  Style Manual for Political Science - Official source from APSA.
• ASA (American Sociological Association) - Sociology - Quick Tips for ASA Style or in print at the reference desk (See links in box with books below.). Purdue OWL ASA Style Guidelines.
• AP (Associated Press) - Journalism, Public Relations - AP Stylebook - Official online version (requires subscription) and info on buying print edition. In print in both General and Reference Collection (See links in box with books below.)
• Bluebook - Legal Studies - The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation- See Introduction to Basic Legal Citation by Peter W. Martin for a well organized guide that refers to both The Bluebook and the ALWD Citation Manual.
• CSE (Council of Science Editors) - (Formally the Council of Biology Editors CBE)-Biology -  Find the earlier edition of Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers in print in our Reference Collection (See links in box with books below.) or see CSE Name-Year Citation Style Guide from McGill Library.
• Harvard Business School - Business - Harvard Business School Citation Guide - Official citation guide from the Harvard Business School.
• IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) - Style used by all branches of engineering, computer science, and other technological fields.  Purdue OWL IEEE Style Guide.
• LSA (Linguistic Society of America) - Linguistics - Unified Style Sheet for Linguistics​ - Official online guide from the Linguistic Society of America. 
• Maroonbook - Legal Studies - University of Chicago Manual of Legal Citation - official online source for the Maroonbook, from the University of Chicago.
• NLM (National Library of Medicine) - Medicine - Citing Medicine - Official online guide from the National Library of Medicine.

Information found at the library for american.edu

Edited for relevancy to Bakersfield College.

The citation style to use is determined by your professor, or if you are submitting a manuscript, by the journal or publisher.

However, each discipline tends to use one, two, or more styles.

Anthropology - use Chicago (used to use AAA) Law & Legal Studies - use Bluebook, 

Art History - use Chicago or Turabian                 Maroonbook or ALWD

Arts Management - use  Chicago                        Linguistics - use APA, MLA or LSA

Biology - use CSE                                                Mathematics - use AMS

Business - use APA, Chicago, or Harvard            Medicine - use AMA or NLM

Chemistry - use ACS                                            Music - use Turabian or Chicago

Communication - use MLA or APA                      Nursing- use APA

Computing Science - use Chicago                      Philosophy - use APA, MLA, Chicago

Criminology - use APA or Chicago                       Physics- use AIP

Education - use APA                                             Political Science - use APSA

English/Literature - use MLA                               Psychology - use APA

History - use Chicago or Turabian                        Public Health-use APA

International Studies - use APA, APSA,              Religion - use MLA or Chicago

or Chicago                                                             Sociology - use ASA or APA

Journalism - use AP or APA                                 Theater - use MLA or Chicago

Information found at the library for american.edu

Edited for relevancy to Bakersfield College.