Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources.
Medicine and Health Databases
To see all of our databases related to health sciences and medicine, click on the links below. To access BC databases, you will need to enter your Bakersfield College email address and password.
The links below are specific databases that might be most helpful for your PTA-related research.
- Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new windowFull range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowCitation and full-text database for information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and more
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowJournal articles focusing on many medical disciplines
Using Library Databases
Databases are searchable collections of reliable, vetted resources, like magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and encyclopedias. We pay for access to these resources through subscriptions--like Netflix, but for articles!
- Vetted= already evaluated or fact-checked
Databases are often categorized by topic, which means they will contain periodicals (magazines and journals) about a particular subject. Be sure to be in the database(s) that pertain to your topic.
Periodicals
To access electronic content from a BC database, you will need to enter your Bakersfield College email address and password.
APTA MagazineFull Text: July 2020 - present
(formerly PT Magazine of Physical Therapy 2000-2009 and PT in Motion 2009-2020).
The professional issues magazine of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA). Published to meet the needs & interests of APTA members & to promote physical therapy as a vital professional career. (Periodical / NOT peer-reviewed)
Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical TherapyFull Text: July 1990 - Dec 1999
Found in the Library's Periodical Collection.
The Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy is a peer-reviewed medical journal covering research about musculoskeletal rehabilitation, orthopaedics, physical therapy, and sports medicine
The Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy® (JOSPT®) publishes scientifically rigorous content and promotes its application to movement-related health.
(Journal - Peer-Reviewed)
Physical TherapyFull text: Jan 1989 - Dec 2020
Articles, review articles, book reviews, product reviews and commentary focusing on the evolution and expansion of scientific and professional knowledge related to physical therapy. (Journal - Peer-Reviewed)Physiotherapy Research International
Full Text: 2000 - present) .Journal for researchers and clinicians in physical therapy. (Journal / peer-reviewed).Physiotherapy Theory & Practice
Full Text: 1999 - present). Aims to provide a forum for recent developments & research in all aspects of physiotherapy/physical therapy.(Journal / Peer-reviewed).PT: Magazine of Physical Therapy
Full Text: July 2000 - 2009. Now called APTA Magazine). The professional issues magazine of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA). Published to meet the needs & interests of APTA members & to promote physical therapy as a vital professional career. (Periodical / NOT peer-reviewed)
PT in MotionFull Text: October 2009 - June 2020
(formerly PT Magazine of Physical Therapy 2000-2009; now APTA Magazine).
Provides legislative, health care, human interest, and Association news and serves as a forum for discussion of professional issues and ideas in physical therapy practice. (Periodical / NOT peer-reviewed).