Finding Literary Criticism
Tips for finding literary criticism
- To find criticism on a particular piece, put the title of the piece in quotation marks in one box, and the name of the author in the box below it. You might find articles analyzing your piece, or chapters within a book/essays within an anthology might be good as well. If you have a particular theme you are looking for, type search term(s) reflecting the theme into a third search box.
- To find criticism on an author as a whole, search for the name of the author. If you have a particular theme you are looking for, type search term(s) reflecting the theme into a third search box.
- Note: It's useful to remember that articles rarely contain the exact thesis of your paper. Rather than looking for articles that focus on all of the exact themes you are looking for, you will likely need to combine arguments from a few different articles with your own interpretation of the text.
The following databases are the best the library has for finding literary criticism about your works and authors.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowGood starting point to access all Gale literary content. Overviews, reviews, literary criticism, author biographies
- Literature Criticism This link opens in a new windowExtensive compilation of literary commentary. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals and more
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowBiographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras
- Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new windowBrowse original scholarly essays on authors from around the world. Places authors and their works in personal and historical context
- Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new windowIn-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers. Includes influences of literary movements
The boxes below showcase some of the books and eBooks we have on literary criticism related to Progressive Era literature.
Relevant Search Results in OneSearch
- American literature -- 20th century -- History and criticism Narrowed to Progressive Era.
Print Books on Literature & The Progressive Era
The following books can be found in the library's General Collection, or the white-labeled book shelves. Use the call number to find the book on the shelves. You can check out 20 general books at one time. Each book can be checked out for 3 weeks, with up to two renewals of 3 weeks each.
The Cambridge History of American Literature by Call Number: PS92 .C34 1994ISBN: 0521301068Publication Date: 1995-01-27
Demonic Vision : Racial Fantasy and Southern Fiction by Call Number: PS261 .R55ISBN: 9780208015822Publication Date: 1976
Maggie, a Girl on the Streets by Call Number: PS1449 .C85 M34 1979ISBN: 9780393012224Publication Date: 1980-01-01Presents an annotated edition of the nineteenth-century novel about Maggie, and includes backgrounds and sources, reviews, critical essays, and a history of the novel's composition and revision.
Stephen Crane: A Collection of Critical Essays by Call Number: PS1449.C85 Z548ISBN: 0131888889Publication Date: 1967-01-01
eBooks on Literature & The Progressive Era
These books are found in our eBook collection, so they are available online and not in print on our shelves. Clicking on the book title will take you to a page where you can click on the link under the "View Online" section, which takes you to another page where you need to click on the PDF in the left margin to read the full book.
The American Counterfeit: Authenticity and Identity in American Literature and Culture by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0817382577Publication Date: 2009-09-15
American Hungers: The Problem of Poverty in U.S. Literature, 1840-1945 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1282453149Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Androgynous Democracy: Modern American Literature and the Dual-Sexed Body Politic by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1283098482Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Cruising Modernism: Class and Sexuality in American Literature and Social Thought by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1501717472Publication Date: 2018-05-31
Echoes of Emerson: Rethinking Realism in Twain, James, Wharton, and Cather by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0817319565Publication Date: 2017-10-17
Grotesque Relations: Modernist Domestic Fiction and the U. S. Welfare State by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1281718092Publication Date: 2008-09-22
Literary Culture and U. S Imperialism : From the Revolution to World War II by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0195351231Publication Date: 2000-07-01
The Literature of Immigration and Racial Formation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1135932417Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Patriarchy in Eclipse: The Femme Fatale and the New Woman in American Literature and Culture, 1870-1920 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781443876513Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Philanthropic Discourse in Anglo-American Literature, 1850-1920 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0253029880Publication Date: 2017-10-19
The Poetics of Sovereignty in American Literature, 1885-1910 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1139235648Publication Date: 2013-01-05
Post-Bellum, Pre-Harlem: African American Literature and Culture, 1877-1919 by ISBN: 9780814731673Publication Date: 2006-06-01
eBooks on Literature & The Progressive Era, cont.
A Question of Character: Scientific Racism and the Genres of American Fiction, 1892-1912 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0817310215Publication Date: 2000-02-08
Reconstituting Authority: American Fiction in the Province of the Law, 1880-1920 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1587293374Publication Date: 2002-04-01
Shadowing the White Man's Burden: U.S. Imperialism and the Problem of the Color Line by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0814795994Publication Date: 2010-05-03
Soft Canons: American Women Writers and Masculine Tradition by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1587292874Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Stephen Crane: the Contemporary Reviews by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1283066254Publication Date: 2013-05-17
Transcending the New Woman: Multiethnic Narratives in the Progressive Era by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826218261Publication Date: 2009-01-30
The Uses of Variety: Modern Americanism and the Quest for National Distinctiveness by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0674028716Publication Date: 2009-06-30
