Reference Books
Examples of reference books include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, and handbooks.
Reference books are found in the Reference Collection, or the green-labeled shelves in the library. You cannot check out reference books from the library, but you can look at them for as long as you are in the library, and you may take photo-copies of reference books.
The Annals of America, 22 vols. by Call Number: REF E173 .A793 1976ISBN: 9780852293164Publication Date: 1976-01-01Vol. 10: 1866-1883: Reconstruction and Industrialization
Vol. 12: 1895-1904: Populism, Imperialism, and Reform
Vol. 13: 1905-1915: The Progressive Era
Primary documents by authors writing about matters of immediate concern, including laws, court decisions, memoirs, and other documents.
Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents, 3 vols. by Call Number: REF E173 .E54 2004ISBN: 9780816049950Publication Date: 2004-03-31Vol. 2 for Era 6 : The development of the industrial United States (ca.1870-1900)
Vol. 3 for Era 7 : The emergence of Modern America (ca.1901-1929)
Opposing Viewpoints in American History, 2 vols. by Call Number: REF E173 .O7 1996ISBN: 9781565103481Publication Date: 1996-01-01Use vol. 2 for Reconstruction and Progressive Era.
Our Nation's Archive: The History of the United States in Documents by Call Number: REF E173 .O77 2005ISBN: 9781579120672Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, 5 vols. by Call Number: REF E185 .E5453 2009ISBN: 9780195167795Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Reforming America: A Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era, 2 vols. by Call Number: REF E661 .R44 2017ISBN: 9781440837203Publication Date: 2017-03-20
Rebels and Renegades: A Chronology of Social and Political Dissent in the United States by Call Number: REF HN90 .R3 H354 2002ISBN: 9780415936392Publication Date: 2002-10-11Also available as an eBook!
Women in American History: A Social, Political, and Cultural Encyclopedia and Document Collection, 4 vols. by Call Number: REF HQ1410 .W6468 2017ISBN: 9781610696029Publication Date: 2017-01-23Vol. 2: Antebellum America through the Gilded Age
Vol. 3: Progressive Era through World War II
Also available as an eBook!
Gale eBooks
The library has access to many online encyclopedias. Online encyclopedia articles are a great way to find out more information about a topic you don't know much about--it's like using a scholarly version of Wikipedia! You can use the search bar to look for articles on the topic you are interested in. Many of the books listed in the reference section, are available online through Gale eBooks (Reference eBooks).
Click on the picture below to get started.
For more directed searches, see the links below.
The 1900s: Defining Documents in American History by ISBN: 9781682171851Publication Date: 2016-09-27Includes sections on African Americans and Native Americans. Look at Table of Contents.The 1910s: Defining Documents in American History by
ISBN: 9781682171875Publication Date: 2016-11-10Includes sections on labor and immigration, women's rights, and African Americans. Look at the Table of Contents.
Development of the Industrial U. S., 3 Vols. by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781414401744Publication Date: 2005-11-16
Industrial Revolution Reference Library by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780787665128Publication Date: 2003-05-23
