Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information on the LGBT Community
Welcome to the BC Library's guide to LGBTQ resources! On this homepage you will find: resources on overarching LGBTQ issues, books that explain LGBTQ issues and showcase LGBTQ data and statistics, LGBTQ resources local to Bakersfield, information on LGBTQ-affirming healthcare, and information on LGBTQ-affirming faith communities, in addition to resources for those who wish to be allies to the LGBTQ community.
Look through the rest of the tabs on this guide to find resources specific to each letter in the LGBTQ acronym, in addition to a tab on insectional resources for LGBTQ people of color.
Photo from Shutterstock
ACLU LGBT Rights
The ACLU works to ensure that lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people can live openly without discrimination and enjoy equal rights, personal autonomy, and freedom of expression and association.
Our mission is to end the rampant homophobia and transphobia in sport and to activate the athletic community to exercise their leadership to champion LGBTQ equality.
Coming Out: A Handbook for LGTBQ Young People
The Trevor Project’s Coming Out: A Handbook
for LGBTQ Young People is here to help you navigate questions around your identity.
Equality Federation is the movement builder and strategic partner to state-based organizations advocating for LGBTQ people. From Equality Florida to Freedom Oklahoma to Basic Rights Oregon, we amplify the power of the state-based LGBTQ movement.
GLAAD Media Reference Guide
GLAAD's Media Reference Guide, now in its tenth edition, offers tools journalists can use to tell LGBTQ people's stories in ways that bring out the best in journalism. It also offers extensive glossaries of terms relating to the LGBTQ community.
GLAD (Gay & Lesbian Advocates & Defenders)
Through strategic litigation, public policy advocacy, and education, GLBTQ Legal Advocates & Defenders works in New England and nationally to create a just society free of discrimination based on gender identity and expression, HIV status, and sexual orientation.
Human Rights Campaign
The Human Rights Campaign represents a force of more than 3 million members and supporters nationwide. As the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer civil rights organization, HRC envisions a world where LGBTQ people are ensured of their basic equal rights, and can be open, honest and safe at home, at work and in the community.
National Association of LGBTQ Journalists
NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of LGBTQ issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members.
National LGBTQ Task Force
The National LGBTQ Task Force advances full freedom, justice and equality for LGBTQ people.
A Resource Guide to Coming Out
A guide to coming out, by the Human Rights Campaign.
The Trevor Project
Founded in 1998 by the creators of the Academy Award®-winning short film TREVOR, The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer & questioning (LGBTQ) young people under 25.
We are the only national organization dedicated to electing openly LGBTQ people who can further equality at all levels of government.
Books on the LGBTQ Community
Encyclopedias on the LGBTQ Community
The Gay and Lesbian Atlas by
Call Number: HQ76.3 .U5 G355 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-03
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 (3 volumes)
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Proud Heritage: People, Issues, and Documents of the LGBT Experience by
Call Number: HQ76.3.U5 P765 2015 (3 volumes)
Publication Date: 2014-12-16
Wimmin, Wimps and Wallflowers: an encyclopaedic dictionary of gender and sexual orientation bias in the United States by
Call Number: HQ76.45 .U5 H47 2000
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by
Call Number: REF HQ75.15 .S24 2016 v. 1-3
Publication Date: 2016-06-02
Local LGBTQ Resources
Bakersfield AIDS Project
The mission of the Bakersfield AIDS Project is to provide quality, compassionate housing and services for persons living with HIV/AIDS in Kern County.
Bakersfield College LGBTQIA Initiatives
The Office offers Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer or Questioning, Intersex and Asexual (LGBTQIA) students and staff a place to join in common celebration of their experience.
Bakersfield College Safe Space
The Bakersfield College Safe Space program was created by the BCSGA as a way for or campus to create a supportive environment for the LGBTQ community. Safe Spaces are places on our campuses where representatives have decided to publicly identify themselves as making an effort to understand and support the needs of the LGBTQ community.
We strive to serve our community with educational, advocacy and social opportunities and have held over 400 successful events of all kinds. We Are a member of the Consolidated Alliance of Pride, Inc (CAPI), and this brings us into a very strong relationship with Pride committees all over the Western US and Mexico. We are also a member of the Bakersfield Chamber of Commerce.
The Center for Sexuality & Gender Diversity
The Center is an easy access hub providing safe, supportive spaces and services to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community, and serving as a bridge to the greater community in Kern County.
CSUB LGBTQ+ Pride
The vision of the LGBTQ+ PRIDE (Promoting Resources, inclusion, and diversity in Education) network is to provide and foster a more welcoming, respectful, and inclusive campus community for LGBTQ+ faculty and staff. This group will provide a supportive space to discuss relevant issues, plan educational initiatives, host social activities, and promote student support.
Stonewall Democrats of Kern County
We are LGBTQIA+ Democrats, fighting for human rights for all marginalized communities. We stand with our democratic Party family to put forward progressive values in Kern County. All are welcome at our monthly meetings.
Youth Empowerment Pride Project of Bakersfield
Youth Empowerment Pride Project (YEPP) is dedicated to LGBTQ Youth Empowerment; to ensure safe spaces in the community, to gather and thrive as healthy individuals, while advocating for equality and celebrating diversity.
Resources for LGBTQ Allies
10 Ways to Be an Ally & Friend
From the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)
An Ally's Guide to Terminology: Talking about LGBT People and Equality
Designed for new allies who want to support LGBT Americans but often face an array of confusing terminology and language, this short guide offers an overview of essential vocabulary, terms to avoid, and a few key messages for talking about various issues
How to be an Ally to the LGBTQ+ Community
From the US Department of Health & Human Services
How to Be an LGBT Ally
From the Human Rights Campaign
PFLAG (Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays)
Founded in 1973 after the simple act of a mother publicly supporting her gay son, PFLAG is the nation's largest family and ally organization. Uniting people who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) with families, friends, and allies, PFLAG is committed to advancing equality through its mission of support, education, and advocacy.
Safe Space Kit: Guide to Being an Ally to LGBT Students
This guide will provide practical ways to transform schools into a safer space for all students by supporting and educating students, sharing your knowledge with other educators and advocating for school-wide changes.
NonDiscrimination Law for LGBTQ Individuals
On June 15, 2020, the Supreme Court ruled that sexual orientation and gender identity discrimination are prohibited under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act. This means that it is now illegal in the United States to fire someone or deny them a job on the basis of their gender identity or sexual orientation. Previously, there was no federal law protecting individuals from discrimination based on their gender identity or sexual orientation. 22 states had created nondiscrimination laws to protect LBGTQ individuals, but 28 states had not.
Healthcare for the LGBTQ Community
APA Office on Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity
The mission of the APA Office on Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity is to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge on gender identity and sexual orientation to benefit society and improve lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people's lives.
Since 1971, Fenway Health has been working to make life healthier for the people in our neighborhood, the LGBT community, people living with HIV/AIDS and the broader population. Fenway was founded in 1971 as part of the free clinic movement by students who believed that “health care should be a right, not a privilege.”
LGBT Sexual Health
Discover the myths around LGBT sexual health and learn how to stay safe during sex.
National LGBT Health Education Center
The National LGBT Health Education Center provides educational programs, resources, and consultation to health care organizations with the goal of optimizing quality, cost-effective health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people.
At Whitman-Walker, we see you. To us this means that regardless of how or why you came to us, we will welcome you with open arms and treat you with the dignity, respect and love that you deserve.
The World Professional Association for Transgender Health
We envision a world wherein people of all gender identities and gender expressions have access to evidence-based healthcare, social services, justice and equality.
LBGT Affirming Faith Communities
LGBTQ+ Affirming Faith Communities in Bakersfield
This page from Bakersfield LGBTQ+ lists places and organizations in Bakersfield that support the LGBTQ+ community. Scroll to the bottom of the page to find a list of LGBTQ+ affirming faith communities in Bakersfield.
Affirmation: LGBTQ Mormons, Family, and Friends
A community of support for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Mormons
Human Rights Campaign Faith Guide
This guide is aimed at folks who hope to lead their faith communities toward a more welcoming stance, and those seeking a path back to beloved traditions. Because each of those traditions is built upon its own complex history and doctrine, these pages will offer general, overarching insights and suggestions. The hope is always to spark new ideas, new dialogue and new courage.
Interfaith Alliance celebrates religious freedom by championing individual rights, promoting policies that protect both religion and democracy, and uniting diverse voices to challenge extremism.
Keshet is a national organization that works for full LGBTQ equality and inclusion in Jewish life.
Metropolitan Community Churches
Founded in 1968, Metropolitan Community Churches (MCC) has been at the vanguard of civil and human rights movements by addressing issues of race, gender, sexual orientation, economics, climate change, aging, and global human rights. MCC was the first to perform same-gender marriages and has been on the forefront of the struggle towards marriage equality in the USA and other countries worldwide.
Muslims for Progressive Values
We are a grassroots, human rights organization that embodies and advocates for social justice, for women’s rights, LGBTQI inclusion, freedom of expression and freedom of and from belief.
Q Christian Fellowship
Q Christian Fellowship cultivates radical belonging among LGBTQ+ people and allies through a commitment to growth, community, and relational justice.