OER by Discipline: Biology

While billed as a “basic” overview of the topic, the text is quite advanced and covers the content of BIOL 190 thoroughly. The updated text means that newer topics such as CRISPR are included. However, the advanced nature of the text means that there are topics that may go beyond the scope of BIOL 190 (e.g., mechanisms of retrotransposon copying, enzyme kinetics, etc.). Curation of the text content may be necessary. One critical feature of the text is its focus on experimental history in cellular and molecular biology; this might make it well-suited for instructors who focus heavily on scientific thinking.

Diverging from traditional biology texts, Biofundamentals fills in many of the “gaps” that these texts leave. Perennially misunderstood concepts such as the Scientific Method and nature of science, and Hardy-Weinberg Equilibrium are addressed with careful consideration for comprehension.

This is a LibreTexts book. Lab Materials are in the Additional Resources box.

This contains the full textbook (LibreTexts), quizzes, and other materials. Wakim & Grewal are Professors (Cell Molecular Biology & Plant Science) at Butte College.

Inanimate Life is an open textbook covering a very traditional biological topic, botany, in a non-traditional way. Rather than a phylogenetic approach, going group by group, the book considers what defines organisms and examines four general areas of their biology: structure (size, shape, composition and how it comes to be); reproduction (including sex when present); energy and material needs, acquisition and manipulations; and finally their interactions with conditions and with other organisms including agricultural interactions between plants and people.

Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors.

This includes a collection of instructional materials for the following open textbook and lab manual: Microbiology for Allied Health Students Lab Manual and Microbiology for Allied Health Students Instructional Materials

ASCCC OERI Webinar

ASCCC OERI Webinar

This link contains access to PPT slides, test questions, an instructor solutions guide, and an OER shell.

This LibGuide from Western Technical College Learning Commons has an extensive list of sites to get high quality images.

eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through our osteology database.

OER visual aids (each of which may contain multiple visual elements) that are customizable for different levels of biology (introductory or majors) for important, commonly taught biology concepts.

From the US National Library of Medicine

Visualizations and Simulations is shared under a not declared license and was authored, remixed, and/or curated by LibreTexts.

This lab manual was created for Anatomy and Physiology I at the University of Georgia

This lab manual was created for Anatomy and Physiology II at the University of Georgia

This lab manual coordinates with the Human Anatomy textbook in the Textbooks box.

Human Anatomy Laboratory Manual is a diagram-based lab manual for 1-semester Human Anatomy courses. Included are over 100 openly-licensed images that students will be able to label and learn from.

Laboratory Experiments is shared under a not declared license and was authored, remixed, and/or curated by LibreTexts.

Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience permits a glimpse into both the good and the bad in the microscopic world. The laboratory experiences are designed to engage and support student interest in microbiology as a topic, field of study, and career.

Photoreceptor Depot is shared under a not declared license and was authored, remixed, and/or curated by LibreTexts.