LibGuides: OER by Discipline: EMLS

Textbooks

Common American English Pronunciation Patterns
An Open Source Textbook for Students Enrolled in ELL 80 at Lake Washington Institute of Technology
Communication Beginnings - An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language Learners
This textbook is designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners.
ESL Collection by LibreTexts
There are a number of textbooks available through LibreTexts along with some learning objects.
Integrated-Skills Activities for English Language Instructors
Each RPA contains enough contextual elements to foster procedural learning, known as necessary for the development of communication skills.
It’s All Greek to Me! Using Authentic Readings to Improve Knowledge of the English Language and Western Culture
“It’s All Greek to Me!” has everything—entertaining stories, academic articles in a variety of disciplines, vocabulary crossover in literary and academic readings, connections to local, American, and Western culture, and plenty of chances for critical thinking for advanced students of English as a Second Language (ESL). All readings are authentic with minimal adaptation from a variety of sources.
Reading, Writing, Research, and Reasoning: An Advanced ESL Text
Reading is a complex process. We will look at ways to engage with texts through readings on the topic of immigration.

Intermediate Grammar

Advanced Grammar

These books are either Word Docs OR Google Docs but may be downloaded at PDF's.

OERI Webinars

OER and English as a Second Language
OER and English as a Second Language Webinar Recording

Courses and Modules

Phonics & Fluency for College ESL Students – Simple Book Publishing
The content focuses on learning American English phonetic rules so that learners become proficient spellers and fluent readers.
Beginning Academic ESL Past and Past Progressive
Introduction of past tense and past progressive tense for beginning level academic English.

Images

OpenVerse
An extensive library of free stock photos, images, and audio, available for free use. All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.

Other Resources

The course packs for each of these readers are listing in the "Instructors Notes" inside each reader.

Within each summary at the links below, there is also a link that will allow students to listen as they read.

Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 1
This reader contains nine original stories about healing, discovery, survival, relationships, justice, and connections to the land explored through the lens of the plant world. These stories, written specifically for adults, are designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 1
Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 2
This reader, written specifically for adults, contains eight chapters about Langston Hughes' family history and personal life. It includes excerpts from many of Hughes' poems and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 2.
Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 3
his reader contains nine original stories written specifically for adults, and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 3.
Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 4
This reader contains nine original stories written specifically for adults, and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 4.
Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 5
This reader contains nine original stories written specifically for adults, and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 5.
Adult Literacy Fundamental English – Reader 6
This reader contains 11 original instructional essays written specifically for adults, and is designed to accompany the BC Reads: Adult Literacy Fundamental English - Course Pack 6.

OER by Discipline: EMLS

Places to Start Your Search